Legislative Assembly Debates

The elections to the two Houses of the Indian Legislature were held under the Government of India Act, 1919, and the new Legislative Assembly was inaugurated on 9 February 1921. The First and the Second Assemblies were dissolved within their life term of three years. The life of the Third, Fourth and the Fifth Assemblies were extended beyond their normal terms. The Fifth Assembly had the longest inning of ten years. The Sixth Assembly 1946-1947 was, in fact, not dissolved but automatically ceased to exist on 14 August 1947 under section 8 of the Indian Independence Act, 1947.
The debates of various sessions of six Legislative Assemblies have been digitised and are being uploaded.