GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1524

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 07th DECEMBER, 2021/AGRAHAYANA 16,1943 (SAKA)

INCLUSION OF LANGUAGE IN EIGHTH SCHEDULE

1524. SHRI KISHAN KAPOOR:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has prescribed any criteria to recognise a popular language of a State in the List of Language in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution;

(b) if so, the details thereof; and

(c) the details of the last language along with its State added in the said List?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) to (c): A total of 22 languages are specified under the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India. The details of dates on which recognition has been granted to each of the languages included in the Eighth Schedule are as under:-

(i) 14 languages, viz., Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, were initially included in the Constitution, i.e., on 26 January, 1950. (ii) Sindhi language was included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution on 10.04.1967.

(iii) Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali languages were included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution on 31.08.1992.

(iv) Bodo, Dogri, Maithili & Santhali languages were included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution on 07.01.2004.

As the evolution of dialects and languages is a dynamic process, influenced by socio-cultural, economic and political developments, it is difficult to fix any criteria for languages, whether to distinguish them from dialects, or for their inclusion in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. The earlier attempts, through Pahwa (1996) and Sitakant Mohapatra (2003) Committees, to evolve such fixed criteria, have been inconclusive. The Government of India is conscious of the sentiments and requirements for inclusion of other languages in the Eighth Schedule. Since many of these languages are spoken in several States, their use is not restricted by State boundaries.

* * * * * * *