Retired Indian Ambassadors Staying Abroad

*16. Shri C. C. Desai: Will the Minister of External Affairs be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the Ambassadors of India who retired and stayed on abroad instead of returning to India;
- (b) the nationality of these Ambassadors and the care or precautions taken by Government to see that Ambassadors loyal to India in every sense were only sent abroad; and
- (c) whether Government propose to take an undertaking from the Ambassadors in future that after retirement they shall not settle down outside India?

The Minister of External Affairs (Shri M. C. Chagla): (a) As far as we know, Shri A. C. Nambiar, former Ambassador of India to the Federal Republic of Germany, and the late Dr. M. A. Rauf, former Ambassador of India to Belgium and later to Switzerland. Also Shri A. S. Lall, who resigned from service in 1963, is in U.S.A. on private employment.

- (b) Their nationality was Indian. Government had no reason to doubt their loyalty to India.
- (c) The freedom of an individual to settle down anywhere in the world he wishes cannot be curbed by Government, unless there is a clear and apparent danger to the State. No such undertaking is considered necessary.

Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty

*17. Shri Kanwar Lal Gupta:
Shri R. S. Vidyarthi:
Shri Ramachandra Veerappa:
Shri V. Krishnamoorthi:
Shri P. M. Sayeed:
Shri Ebrahim Sulaiman Sait:
Shri Bibhuti Mishra:
Shri K. N. Tiwary:
Shri Surendranath Dwivedy:
Shri Hem Barua:
Shri Yashpal Singh:
Shri S. C. Samanta:

Shri Onkar Singh: Shri Onkar Lal Berwa: Shrimati Tarkeshwari Sinha: Shri Sezhiyan: Shri D. N. Patodia: Shri R. Barua: Shri Manibhai J. Patel: Shri Sidheshwar Prasad: Shri Mohan Swarup: Shri Yogendra Sharma: Shri M. Rampure: Shri Prakash Vir Shastri: Shri N. Sreekantan Nair: Shri N. K. Sanghi: Shri P. K. Deo: Shri K. P. Singh Deo: Shri D. N. Deb: Shri N. S. Sharma: Shri Sharda Nand: Shri Brij Bhushan Lal: Shri A. B. Vajpayee: Shri Shri Gopal Saboo: Shri S. S. Kothari: Shri George Fernandes: Shri Madhu Limaye: Shri J. H. Patel: Shri Ram Kishan Gupta: Shri Indrajit Gupta: Shri Hukam Chand Kachwai; Shri Ram Singh Ayarwal: Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia: Shri S. M. Banerjee: Shri Y. A. Prasad: Shri Swell: Shri Hem Raj: Shri Bal Raj Madhok: Shri Shiva Chandra Jha: Shri K. N. Pandey: Shri R. K. Sinha: Shrimati Sharda Mukerjee: Shri Mohsin: Shri Nambiar: Shri C. C. Desai: Shri A. Sreedharan: Shri P. Viswambharan: Shri Manglathumadom: Shri Kameshwar Singh:

Will the Minister of External Affairs be pleased to state:

(a) whether it is a fact that India ha_S decided not to sign the non-proliferation treaty unless India's security against Nuclear threat was assured by U.S.A. and U.S.S.R.;