Importance

The Prime Minister and Minister of External Affairs (Shri Jawaharial Nehru): A copy of the Resolution of the Government of India dated 1st March, 1958 relating to the constitution of the Atomic Energy Commission is laid on the Table of the Lok Sabha. [See Appendix V, annexure No. 127]. This Resolution gives information required about the constitution and powers delegated to the Commission, also the objectives and responsibilities of the Commission and its autonomy.

According to the constitution of the Commission, it shall consist of not more than seven and not less than three full-time and part-time members. For the present, it is proposed to have three members. These will be:

Dr. H. J. Bhabha, F.R.S., Chairman, Ex-officio.

Shri P. N. Thappa, I.C.S., Member for Finance and Administration.

Dr. K. S. Krishnan, F.R.S., Member.

Additional members will be added as and when required. Both Dr. H. J. Bhabha and Dr. K. S. Krishnan were members of the old Atomic Energy Commission.

Dr. H. J. Bhabha, the present Secretary of the Department and Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission, is also the Director of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research and the Director of the Atomic Energy Establishment, Trombay. The Trombay Establishment, which is the national centre for all research and development in the field of atomic energy and where all the research and experimental reactors will be set up during the next few years, is a very large establishment. Its scientific and technical personnel already numbers about 700. The work of the Director is very heavy, onerous and difficult and, by its very nature, can only be discharged by a scientist with a deep and thorough knowledge of the entire field and familiar with the most recent developments in this rapidly advancing field. It has, therefore, become imperative that Dr. Bhabha should be relieved of as much of his administrative and non-scientific duties as possible to enable him to devote more time and attention to matters of policy in atomic energy and other technical questions. There are many scientific and technical matters to which he is anxious to pay special attention and which he has not been able to do because of the load of work and lack of time. The intention is that the Member for Finance and Administration will discharge all the administrative duties of a Secretary to Government in the Department, except important regarding matters of policy, which will be the responsibility of the Chairman, and will also be ex-officio Secretary to Government in the Department of Atomic Energy in financial matters.

*INDIAN OATHS (AMENDMENT) BILL

The Deputy Minister of Law (Shri Hajarnavis): I beg to move for leave to introduce a Bill further to amend the Indian Oaths Act, 1873.

Mr. Speaker: The question is:

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill further to amend the Indian Oaths Act, 1873".

The motion was adopted.

Shri Hajarnavis: I introduce the Bill.

**DEMANDS FOR GRANTS-Contd.

MINISTRY OF HEALTH

Mr. Speaker: The House will now take up discussion and voting on

2,

^{*}Published in the Gazette of India Extraordinary Part II—Section dated 24th March, 1958.

^{*}Moved with the recommendation of the President.