Mr. Speaker: The question is:

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill to amend the Coal Mines (Conservation and Safety) Act, 1952".

The motion was adopted.

Sardar Swaran Singh: I introduce† the Bill.

ORISSA APPROPRIATION (No. 2) BILL

The Deputy Minister of Finance (Shri B. R. Bhagat) On behalf of Shri Morarji Desai, I beg to move:

"That the Bill to authorise payment and appropriation of certain sums from and out of the Consolidated Fund of the State of Orissa for the financial year 1961-62, be taken into consideration".

Mr. Speaker: The question is:

"That the Bill to authorise payment and appropriation of certain sums from and out of the Consolidated Fund of the State of Orissa for the financial year 1961-62, be taken into consideration".

The motion was adopted.

Mr. Speaker: The question is:

"That clauses 1 to 3, the Schedule, the Enacting Formula and the Title stand part of the Bill".

The motion was adopted.

Clauses 1 to 3, the Schedule, the Enacting Formula and the Title were added to the Bill.

Shri B. R. Bhagat: I beg to move:

"That the Bill be passed".

Mr. Speaker: The question is:

"That the Bill be passed".

The motion was adopted.

12.09 hrs.

INCOME-TAX BILL-contd.

Mr. Speaker: The House will now resume further consideration of the following motion moved by Shri Morarji Desai on the 27th April 1961, namely:—

"That the Bill to consolidate and amend the law relating to income-tax and super-tax be referred to a Select Committee consisting of 30 members, namely, Shri K. R. Achar, Shri P. Subbiah Ambalam, Shri Amjad Ali, Premji R. Assar, Shri Bahadur Singh, Shri Prafulla Chandra Borooah, Shri D. R. Chavan, Shri Shree Narayan Das, Shri Mulchand Dube, Shri M. L. Dwivedi, Shri D. A. Katti, Shri P. Kunhan, Shri Bhausaheb Raosaheb Mahagaonkar, Shri Mathew Maniyangadan, Shri M. R. Masani, Shri T. C. N. Menon, Shri Radheshyam Ramkumar Morarka, Shri Narendrabhai Nathwani, Shri C. D. Pande, Shri Naval Prabhakar, Shri Ram Shanker Lal, Shri Shivram Rango Rane, Shri Jaganatha Rao, Shri K. V. Ramakrishna Reddy, Shri Asoke K. Sen, Shri Laisram Achaw Singh, Dr. Ram Subhag Singh, Shrimati Tarkeshwari Sinha, Shri Radhelal Vyas, and Shri M rarji Desai with instruct ons to report by the last day of the first week of the next session."

Shri N. R. Muniswamy (Vellore): May I raise a point of order, Sir, with regard to the motion moved by the hon. Minister of Finance yesterday referring the Bill to a Select Committee consisting of 30 Members? The form given in the Order Paper was for reference to a committee consisting of 20 Members. But what the hon. Minister exactly did was to refer it to a Select Committee consisting of 30 Members. The number was increased and it was not brought to the notice of the House. He may have reasons for raising the number by 10 more; there may be experts on

[†]Introduced with the recommendation of the President.

*Moved with the recommendation of the President.