make to the Lok Sabha in regard to the said Bill.'

Leave of Absence

(vi) "In accordance with the provisions of sub-rule (6) of rule 162 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to return herewith the Appropriation (Railways) No. 4 Bill, 1956, which was passed by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 13th March, 1956, and transmitted to the Rajya Sabha for its recommendations and to state that this House has no recommendations to

make to the Lok Sabha in regard to the said Bill."

(vii) "In accordance with the pro-

visions of sub-rule (6) of rule 162 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to return herewith the Appropriation (Railways) No. 5 Bill, 1956, which was passed by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 13th March, 1956, and transmitted to the Rajya Sabha for its recommendations and to state that this House has no recommendations to

make to the Lok Sabha in regard to ESTIMATES COMMITTEE

the said Bill."

TWENTY-SECOND REPORT

श्री बी० जी ० मेहता (गोहिलवाड): अध्यक्ष महोदय, मैं उत्पादन मंत्रालय पर एस्टीमेटस समीती की बाईसवीं रिपोर्ट सभा की टेबल पर रखता हं।

LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Mr. Speaker: The Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House in its Thirteenth Report has recommended that leave of absence may be granted to the following Members for the periods indicated in the Report:

- (1) Shri R. Venkataraman.
- (2) Shri Udai Shankar Dube.
- (3) Shri N. D. Govindswami Kachiгоуаг.
- (4) Shri K. Ananda Nambiar.
- (5) Shri T. A. M. Subramania Chettiar.
- (6) Shri N. Somana.
- (7) Shri Sofi Mohd. Akbar.
- (8) Shri Kotha Raghuramaiah.
- (9) Shrimati Indira A. Maydeo.
- (10) Shri Birakisor Ray.

The Committee has further recommended that in the cases of Shri Sib-narayan Singh Mahapatra, Shri Chowkhamoon Gohain and Shri Muchaki Kosa who had been absent without permission, there absence for the period indicated against each in the Report may be condoned.

I take it that the House agrees with the recommendations of the Committee. Several Hon. Members: Yes.

Mr. Speaker: The Members will be informed accordingly.

LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION BILL

Speaker: The House will now take up the motion for reference of the Life Insurance Corporation Bill, 1956, to a Select Committee. As the House is already aware, 10 hours have been allotted for the consideration of this motion.

The Minister of Finance (Shri C. D. Deshmukh): Sir, I beg to move:

"That the Bill to provide for the nationalisation of life insurance business in India by transferring all such business to a Corporation established for the purpose and to provide for the regulation and control of the business of the Corporation and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto, be referred to a Select Committee consisting of Shri B. G. Mehta, Shri Syamnandan Sahaya, Shri Anirudha Sinha, Shri S. K. Patil, Shri Shriman Narayan, Shri C. P. Matthen, Shri Feroze Gandhi, Shri Radhelal Vyas, Shri Raichand Bhai N. Shah, Shri Opendra Nath Barman, Shri Bimalaprosad Chaliha, Shri S. R. Telkikar, Shri R. Venkataraman, Shri Tek Shri R. Venkataraman, Shri Tek Chand, Shri T. N. Singh, Shri Tekur Subrahamanyam, Pandit Krishna Chandra Sharma, Shri R. R. Morarka, Shri G. L. Bansal, Shri M. D. Joshi, Shrimati Sushama Sen, M. D. Joshi, Shrimati Sushama Sen, Shri S. R. Rane, Shri V. B. Gandhi, Shri B. R. Bhagat, Shri Sadhan Chandra Gupta, Shri K. Ananda Nambiar, Shri Tushar Chatterjea, Shri K. M. Vallatharas, Shri M. S. Gurupadaswamy, Shri K. S. Raghavachari, Shri Tulsidas Kilachand, Shri U. M. Trivedi, Shri G. D. Somani, Shri R. Velayudhan, and the Mover with instructions to report by the 16th of April, 1956."

Sir, hon. Members will recall that during the discussions of the Life In-surance (Emergency Provisions) Bill I had explained fairly fully what led the Government to take this decision to