3453

LOK SABHA Monday, 28th March, 1955

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock.

[Mr. Speaker in the Chair] QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

(See Part I)

12 Noon.

PAPER LAID ON THE TABLE
ANNUAL REPORT OF I.C.A.R. FOR
1952-53.

The Deputy Minister of Food and Agriculture (Shri M. V. Krishnappa): I beg to lay on the Table a copy of the Annual Report of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research for the year 1952-53. [Placed in Library, See No. S-94/55.]

PRESIDENT'S ASSENT TO BILLS

Secretary: Sir, I have to inform the House that the following Bills, which were passed by the Houses of Parliament during the current session, have been assented to by the President:

- 1. The Appropriation (Railways) Bill, 1955.
- 2. The Appropriation (Railways) No. 2 Bill, 1955.
 - 3. The Appropriation Bill, 1955.
- 4. The Appropriation (Vote on Account) Bill, 1955.

MESSAGE FROM RAJYA SABHA

Secretary: Sir, I have to report the following message received from the Secretary of Rajya Sabha:

19 LSD-1

3454

'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha, at its sitting held on the 25th March, 1955, has passed the enclosed motion referring the Hindu Succession Bill, 1954, to a Joint Committee of the Houses and to request that the concurrence of the Lok Sabha in the said motion and the names of the Members of the Lok Sabha to be appointed to the said Joint Committee may be communicated to this House.'

P. T.

MOTION

"That the Bill to amend and codify the law relating to intestate succession among Hindus be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members: 15 members from this House, namely:

- 1. Dr. Shrimati Seeta Parmanand.
- 2. Shri K. P. Madhavan Nair,
- 3. Shrimati Savitry Devi Nigam,
- 4. Shri Rajeshwar Prasad Narain Sinha.
 - 5. Shri Awadesh Pratap Singh,
 - 6. Shri Onkar Nath,
 - 7. Shri Deokinandan Narayan.
- 8. Pandit Sham Sundar Narain Tankha.
 - 9. Shri V. M. Surendra Ram,
 - 10. Shri Adityendra,
 - 11. Shrimati Parvathi Krishnan.
 - 12. Shri Rajendra Pratap Sinha.
 - 13. Shri T. V. Kamalaswamy.
 - 14. Shri P. S. Rajagopal Naidu.
- 15. Shri Amolakh Chand and 30 members from the Lok Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quoram shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;