Constitution because these are discriminatory for the reason that while the Act gives exclusive rights of the waters of Yamuna to Haryana, it makes the waters of three exclusively Punjab rivers only distributable by the Centre but also vests their control with the Central Government."

MR. CHAIRMAN: Mr. Brar, you can continue next time because we have to take up other business now.

15.31 hrs.

COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBER'S
BILLS AND REVOLUTIONS
FIFTEEN REPORT

[Translation]

SHRI SHYAM PRIHARI BIHAARI(Bilhour): Sir, I beg to move.

"That this House do agree with the Fifteenth Report of the Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions presented to the House on the 3rd March, 1993."

[English]

MR. CHAIRMAN: "That this House do agree with the Fifteenth Report of the Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions presented to the House on the 3rd March, 1993."

The Motion was adopted.

15.35 hrs.

RESOLUTION RE REVIEW OF DISINVESTMENT POLICY— Cont.

[English]

MR. CHAIRMAN: Before I put the Resolution, moved by Shri Rupchand Pal, to the vote of the House, I may inform the Members that on 4th December, 1992 when the moved of the Resolution pressed

for division and after the lobbies were cleared, it was found that there was no quorm in the House, the Chair adjourned the House and the division on the Resolution was held ovr.

MR. CHAIRMAN: The question is:

"This House calls upon the Government to immediately undertaken a comprehensive review of the disinvestment policy of the Government in reported of Public sector undertakings."

The Lok Sabha Divides

15. 34 hrs.

Division No. 1.

Abdul Ghafoor, Shri

Acharia, Shri Basudeb

Bala, Dr. Asim

Barman, Shri Uddhab

Basu, Shri Anil

Basu, Shri Chitta

Chakraborty, ,Prof. Susanta

Jena, Shri Srikanta

Mahato, Shri Bir Singh

Mandal, Shri Sanat Kumar

Manjay Lal, Shri

Mollah, Shri Hannan

Mukhopadyay, Shri Ajoy

Pal, Shri Rupchand

Rai, Shri Lal(Babu)

415 Resolution re review	MARCH 5	, 1993	of disinvestment policy 416	
Rai, Shri M. Ramanna		Digvijaya Singh, Shri (Rajgarh)		
Ram, Shri Pram Chand		Galib, Shri Gurcharan Singh		
Raychhaudhri, Shri Sudarsan		Gehlot, Shri Ashok		
Singh, Shri Pratap		Ghatowar, S	hri Paban Singh	
*Tara Singh, Shri		Gogoi, Shri	Tarun	
Yadav, Shri Devendra Prasad		Gomango, S	Shri Giridhar	
*Wrong voted for Ayes.		Handique, S	hri Bijoy Krishna	
Ahmed, Shri Kamaluddin		Inder Jit, Sh	ri	
Akber Pasha, Shri B.		Jaffer Sharie	f, Shri C.K.	
Ayub Khan, Shri		Janarthanan,	Shri M. R. Kadambur	
Banerjee, Kumari Mamata		Jangde, Shri	Khelan Ram	
Bansal, Shri Pawan Kumar		Kaliaperuma	l, Shri P. P.	
Bhagey Gobardhan, Shri		Kanithi, Dr. V	'iswanatham	
Bhatia, Shri Raghunandan Lal		Kaul, Shrima	ti Sheila	
Bhonsle, Shri Tejsinghrao		Kewal Singh,	Shri	
Brar, Shri Jagmeet Singh		Khan, Shri A	slam Sher	
Chacko, Shri P.C.		Khursheed, S	Shri Salman (Farrukhabad)	
Chaliha, Shri Kirip		Konathala, S	hri Rama Krishna	
Chandrasekhar, Shrimati Maragath	am	Krishan Kum	ar, Shri S.	
Chaudhary, Shri Kamal (Hoshiarp	our)	Kuli, Shri Ba	alin	
Chavan, Shri Prithviraj D.		Kumaramang	galam, Shri Rangarajan	
Chennithala, Shri Ramesh		Lakshmanan	, Prof. Savithri	
Chowdharv, Shrimati Santosh		Nayak, Shri	Mrutyunjaya	
Dadahoor, Shri Gurcharan Singh		Nayak, Shri	Subash Chandra	
Dennis, Shri N.		Netam, Shri	Arvind	
Dev, Shri Santosh Mohan		Palacholla, S	Shri V. R. Naidu	
			had Oath all acco	

Panigrahi, Shri Sriballav

Dighe, Shri Sharad (Bombay North Central)

417 Resolution re review of PHALGUNA 14, 1914 (SAKA) Resolution re creation disinvestment policy of new States of Uttaranchal & Vananchal

Panja, Shri Ajit

Patel, Shri Shravan Kumar

Patel, Shri Uttambhai Harjibhai

Patil, Shri Anwari Basavaraj

Patil Shrimati Pratibha Devisingh

Prabhu Zantye, Shri Harish Narayan

Rahi, Shri Ram Lal

Rath. Shri Rama Chandra

Reddy, Shri A. Venkata

Reddy, Shri M. G.

Sayeed, Shri P. M.

Shankaranand, Shri B.

Sharma, Shri Chiranji Lal

Singh, Shri Jeewan

Singh, Shri Moti Lal

Sodi. Shri Manku Ram

Sukbuns Kaur, Shrimati

Thoma, Prof. K.V.

Thomas, Shri P.C.

Thungon, Shri P.K.

Topno, Kumari Frida

Umbrey, Shri Laeta

Upadhyay, Shri Swarup

Verma, Kumari Vimla

Vijayaraghavan, Shri V.S.

Wasnik, Shri Mukul Balkrishna (Buldana)

MR CHAIRMAN: Subject to correction, the result of the division is:

21

Ayes :

Noes : 72

The Motion was Negatived.

SHRI BASUDEB ACHARIA: Sir, we are walking out in protest.

15.39 hrs.

SHRI BASUDEB ACHARIA and some other HON. MEMBERS then left the House.

15.40 hrs.

RESOLUTION RE CREATION OF NEW STATES OF UTTRANCHAL AND VANANCHAL

[Translation]

SHRI JAGAT VIR SINGH DRONA (Kanpur): Mr. Chairman, Sir, I beg to move:

"This House recommends to the Government that in order to remove the backwardness of the States of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, two new separate states to be called Uttranchal, comprising hilly regions of Uttar Pradesh and Vananchal, comprising Chhotta Nagpur and 'Santhal Pargana regions of Bihar, be created."

Mr. Chairman Sir, the issue has been presented in the House today for a decision, but this issue has been causing a grave concern outside the House, specially in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. Even after these 45 years of independence, there has been very little or negligible development in the hill areas of Uttar Pradesh and in the 16 districts under Chhota Nagpur and Santhal Pargana area of Bihar. The people of these areas have been expressing their resentment on this issue from time to time. There are 8 districts-Uttarkashi, Dehradun, Chamouli, Nainital. Tehri-Garhwal. Almora. Pithouragarh and Pauri Garhwal- under the

Ayes - Shri Mahi Ram Saikia

Noes -1. Cop. Rao Ram Singh

- 2. Shri S.B. Sidnal
- 3. Shri Tara Singh

^{*}The following members also recorded their votes:-