Nehru

Mr. Speaker: I shall be coming to that.

Shri N. C. Chatterjee (Burdwan): Mr. Speaker, Sir.....

Mr. Speaker: I have called the Prime Minister; I will be coming to him afterwards.

12.04 hrs.

INTRODUCTION OF MINISTERS

The Prime Minister and Minister of Atomic Energy (Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri): I beg to introduce to you and to the House the three new Ministers of my Cabinet: Shrimati Indira Gandhi, Minister of Information end Broadcasting; Shri N. Sanjiva Reddy, Minister of Steel and Mines and SLII T. N. Singh, Minister of Heavy Engineering in the Ministry of Industry and Supply—and Shri S. K. Patil, Minister of Railways.

12.05 hrs.

CONDOLENCE MESSAGES FROM FOREIGN PARLIAMENTS AND PAR-LIAMENTARY ASSOCIATIONS ON THE DEMISE OF SHRI JAWAHAR-LAL NEHRU

Mr. Speaker: The House will recall that on the 5th June, 1964, I laid on^{*} the Table condolence messages on the death of Shri Jawaharlal Nehru received from 18 foreign Parliaments. Since then I have received condolence messages from 13 more foreign Parliaments and Parliamentary Associations, namely:

- (1) National Assembly, Ghana;
- (2) Kenya House of Representatives;
- (3) National Assembly of Pakistan;
- (4) Chamber of Deputies of Peru;
- (5) European Parliament, Luxembourg;
- (6) Northern Rhodesia, Legislative Assembly;

12 hrs.

OBITUARY REFERENCES

Mr. Speaker: I have to inform the House of the sad demise of five of our friends, namely, Babu Ram Narayan Singh, Dr. N. M. Jaisoorya, Shri P. T. Chacko, Shri Lal Hembrom and Shri Ignace Beck.

Babu Ram Narayan Singh was a Member of the Constituent Assembly of India, the Provisional Parliament and the First Lok Sabha during the years 1946 to 1957. He passed away at Chatra on the 24th June 1964 at the age of 79.

Dr. N. M. Jasoorva was a member of the First Lok Sabha during the years 1952-57. Te passed away at Hyderabad on the 28th June 1964 at the age of 64.

Shri P. T. Chacko was a member of the Constituent Assembly of India and the First Lok Sabha during the years 1949-50 and 1952-53. He passed away while on his way by car to Kavilampara on the 1st August, 1964 at the age of 49.

Shri Lal Hembrom was a member of the First Lok Sabha during the years 1952—57. He passed away at Dumka on the 21st August, 1964 at the age of 55.

Shri Ignace Bock was a member of the Second Lok Sabha during the years 1957 to 1962. He passed away at Ranchi on the night of the 31st August, 1964 at the age of 70.

We deeply mourn the loss of these friends and I am sure the House will join me in conveying our condolences to the bereaved families.

The House may stand in silence for a shortwhile to express its sorrow.

The Members then stood in silence for a shortwhile.

Mr. Speaker: The hon. Prime Minister.

Shri Nambiar (Tiruchirapalli): There is an adjournment motion.