Saigal, Shri A. S.
Sanghi, Shri N. K.
Sanji Rupji, Shri
Sankata Prasad, Dr.
Sant Bux Singh, Shri
Sen, Shri Dwoipayan
Sen, Shri P. G.
Shah, Shrimati Jayaben
Shastri, Shri Sheopujan
Sheo Narain, Shri

Sher Singh, Shri
Sheth, Shri T. M.
Shukla, Shri S. N.
Shukla, Shri Vidya
Charan
Siddeshwar Prasad, Shri
Singh, Shri D. N.
Sinha, Shri R. K.
Snatak, Shri Nar Deo
Sonar, Dr. A. G.

Sonavane, Shri
Supakar, Shri Sradhakar
Tiwary, Shri D. N.
Tiwary, Shri K. N.
Tula Ram, Shri
Veerappa, Shri Ramachandra
@Viswanatham Shri Ter
neti

Bills introduced

NOES

Abraham, Shri K. M. Amat, Shri D Ayarwal, Shri Ram Singh Baneriee, Shri S. M. Basu, Shri Jyotirmoy Behra, Shri Vaidhar Berwa, Shri Onkar Lal Bhagaban Das, Shri Bharat Singh, Shri Birua, Shri Kolai Chittybabu, Shri C. Dange, Shri S. A. Deo, Shri R. R. Singh Digvijai Nath, Shri Esthose, Shri P. P. Fernandes, Shri George Girraj Saran Singh, Shri Gopalan, Shri A. K. Gupta, Shri Indrajit Gupta, Shri Kanwar Lal Janardhanan, Shri C Jha, Shri S. C.

Jharkhande Rai, Shri Kachwai, Shri Hukam Chand Kameshwar Singh, Shri Kandappan, Shri S. Kapoor, Shri Lakhan Lal Khan, Shri Ghayoor Ali Kothari, Shri S. S. Kushwah, Shri Y. S. Limave. Shri Madhu Mahato, Shri Bhajahari Shri Vishwa-Menon. natha Misra, Shri Srinibas Modak, Shri B. K. Mody, Shri Piloo Mukeriee, Shri H. N. Muthusami, Shri C Naik, Shri G. C. Nair, Shri Vasudevan Nayanar, Shri E. K. Paswan, Shri Kedar

Patel, Shri J. H. Patil, Shri N. R. Puri, Dr. Surya Prakash Ramani, Shri K. Samanta, Shri S. C. Sequeira, Shri Shah, Shri T. P. Shri Virendra-Shah. kumar Sharda Nand, Shri Sharma, Shri B. S. Sharma, Shri Yajna Datt Sharma, Shri Yogendra Shastri, Shri Ramavatar Shastri, Shri Raghuvir Singh Shastri. Shri Shiv Kumar Sreedharan, Shri A. Tapuriah, Shri S. K. Vajpayee, Shri A. B. Yadav, Shri Jageshwar

14.50 hrs.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: The result; of the Divisions is:

Ayes 103; Noes 61.

The motion was adopted.

STATEMENT RE. GOLD (C

duce the Bill.

STATEMENT RE. GOLD (CON-TROL) ORDINANCE, 1968 THE DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF FINANCE

SHRI MORARJI DESAI: I intro-

†The following Members also re-corded their vote:

AYES: Sarvashri B. N. Kathan, B. N. Shastri, K. Suryanarayana and Bibhuti Mishra and Shrimati Sucheta Kripa!ani.

NOES: Sarvashri Brij Bhushan Lal, Ramchandra J. Amin, N. K. Somani, Bansh Narain Singh, S. M. Joshi, Bhogendra Jha, Satya Narain Singh, Gunanand Thakur, S. N. Maiti, S. M. Krishna, Tenneti Viswanatham and Shrimati Suseela Gopalan.

*Published in Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part—II section 2, dt. 22-7-68.

[@]Wrongly voted for 'Ayes'.

(SHRI MORARJI DESAI): I beg to lay on the Table a copy of the explanatory statement giving reasons for immediate legislation by the Gold (Control) Ordinance, 1968 under rule 71(1) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha

14.51 hrs.

JUDGES (INQUIRY) BILL*

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN MINISTRY OF HOME AF-THE FAIRS (SHRI VIDYA CHARAN SHUKLA): On behalf of Shri Y. E. Chavan, I beg to move for leave to introduce the Bill to regulate the procedure for the investigation and proof of the misbehaviour or incapacity of a judge of the Supreme Court or of a High Court and for the presentation of an address by Parliament to the President and for matters connected therewith.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: The question is:

"That leave is granted to introduce a Bill to regulate the procefor the investigation and proof of the misbehaviour or incapacity of a judge of the Supreme Court or of a High Court and for the presentation of an address byParliament to President and for matters connected therewith."

The motion was adopted.

SHRI VIDYA CHARAN SHUKLA: I...introduce the Bill.

14.52 hrs.

REQUISITIONING AND ACQUISITION OF IMMOVABLE PROPERTY
(AMENDMENT) BILL

THE MINISTER OF WORKS, HOUSING AND SUPPLY (SHRI JAGANATH RAO): I beg to move*:

"That the Bill further to amend the Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immovable Property Act. 1952, be taken into consideration."

Sir, before I prodeed to explain the salient features of the Bill. I would like briefly to recall the background to this legislation. You are well aware that the Land Acquisi-Act of 1894 gave powers to acquire land for a public purpose, to Government and this Act did not give the power to requisition any immoveable property for a public purpose. During the World War II in 1939, the Defence of India Act was passed and under the Act and rules made thereunder, certain lands were requisitioned, and thereafter the Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immoveable Property Act, 1947 was passed. It was a temporary Act, and later on, in 1952, the Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immoveable Property Act came into being. All the properties that were acquired and requisitioned under the earlier Act were deemed to have continued to be requisitioned under the 1952 Act. This 1952 act comes to an end by 13th March, 1970. In the wake of the Chinese aggression in 1962, the Defence of India Act was passed. Under the Act and the rules made thereunder certain number of lands were requisitioned. In particular. 74,570 acres of land and about 208 buildings were requisitioned by the Ministry of Defence for the purposes connected with the defence of the country and the efficient conduct of operations. At present. military there are about 65,916 acres of land and 200 buildings under regulation and the estimated cost of the acquisition of the land still to be requisitioned would be about Rs. 35 crores. On many of the requisitioned land, valuable constructions have already been put up and the construction therefore is of a permanent nature.

[&]quot;Moved with the recommendation of the President."