35 Oral Answers	APRIL 19, 1988	Written Answers 36
1	2	3
Bihar	NIL	2
Gujarat	2	NIL
Haryana	3	NIL
Himachal Pradesh	NIL	13
Jammu & Kashmir	NIL	1
Karnataka	4	3
Kerala ·	2	2
Madhya Pradesh	5	NIL
Maharashtra	NIL	12
Arunachal Pradesh	1	NIL
Orissa	3	1
Punjab	NIL	16
Rajasthan	2	2
Tamil Nadu	NIL	1
U.P.	3	NIL
West Bengal	2	2

PROF. NARAIN CHAND PARASHAR: From the statement, it appears that the number of telex exchanges planned for installation in 1988-89 is 29 and in the last year of the Plan, it will be 66. I would like to know whether any district headquarters would be given priority among them.

MR. DEPUTY SPEAKER: The Question Hour is over now.

## WRITTEN ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS

[English]

## Opening of Post Offices in Madhya Pradesh

\*714. SHRI PARASRAM BHARDWAJ: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the number of post offices opened in Madhya Pradesh during the Seventh Five

Year Plan;

- (b) what were the targets; and
- (c) the number of post offices proposed to be opened in Madhya Pradesh, districtwise, during the remaining period of the current Five Year Plan?

THE MINISTER OF ENERGY AND MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI VASANT SATHE): (a) 119 post offices have been opened in Madhya Pradesh during the Seventh Five Year Plan up to 31-3-1988.

- (b) On account of the continuing ban on creation of posts, no targets were laid down during 1985-86, 1986-87 and 1987-88. However, new post offices have been sanctioned by obtaining relaxation from the ban for specific proposals from the Ministry of Finance.
- (c) According to the present assessment, 301 new post offices may be opened in Madhya Pradesh during the remaining two years of the Seventh Plan (1988-89 and 1989-90). The district-wise break-up is as follows:

SI. No.	Name of the District	Number of new post offices likely to be opened during 1988-89 and 1989-90	
1	2	3	
1.	Surguja	15	
2.	Bhind	1	
3.	Betul	5	
4.	Bilaspur	71	
5.	Bhopal	3	
6.	Balaghat	3	
7.	Chhattarpur	5	
8.	Chhindwara	13	
9.	Dhar <sub>,</sub>	5	
10.	Durg	4	
11.	Guna	7	
12.	Bastar	3	
13.	Jhabua	2	

39	Written Answers	APRIL 19, 1988	Written Answers 40
1	2		3
14.	Jabalpur		2
15.	East Nimar		5
16.	<b>M</b> orena		2
17.	Mandsaur		6
18.	Panna		9
19.	Rajgarh		7
20.	Raipur		25
21.	Rewa		18
22.	Rajnandangaon		1
<b>23</b> .	Raigarh		13
24.	Ratlam		1
<b>2</b> 5.	Sehore		1
<b>2</b> 6.	Shajapur		1
27.	Sidhi		12
28.	Shahdol		12
29.	Seoni		1
<b>3</b> 0.	Satna		21
31.	Sagar		2
<b>3</b> 2.	Tikamgarh		4
<b>3</b> 3.	Ujjain		2
34.	Vidisha		8
35.	West Nimar		11
		TOTAL	301