[Shri Samar Guha.]

But about the secession or accession of territory no information has been given.

MR. SPEAKER: That is not the question that was taken up. Only the External Affairs Minister was asked.

SHRI SAMAR GUHA: Sir, to-day is the last day of the session. We are not going to meet for two months now. Whether there will be any secession or accession of territory—that the House is entitled to know and this information the Government is not giving.

MR. SPEAKER: I do not think he was asked to make a statement about it today.... (Interruptions) This is not a subject on which he can reply offhand. We did not ask him.

श्री हुक्स चन्द कछ बाय (मुरैना) विद्यतनाम पर बमबारी का वक्तव्य जरूरी या और यह जो भारत की भूमि दे दी गई इम पर वक्तव्य जरूरी नहीं था ?

SHRI SAMAR GUHA: I only want to submit to you that any accession or secession of land to Pakistan this House is entitled to know. Today being the last day, we would like to have this information.

MR. SPEAKER: We will see in the next session.

17.50 hrs.

NATIONAL LIBRARY BILL-Contd.

THE MINISTER OF EDUCATION, SOCIAL WELFARE AND CULTURE (PROF. S. NURUL HASAN): I beg to move:

"That the debate on the motion that the Bill to provide for the administration of the National Library and certain other connected matters, be taken into

consideration' which was adjournad on the 20th December, 1972, be resumed now."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That the debate on the motion 'that the Bill to provide for the administration of the National Library and certain other connected matters, be taken into consideration' which was adjourned on the 20th December, 1972 be resumed now."

The motion was adopted.

MR. SPEAKER: Now, I will put Mr. Hiren Mukerjee's motion:

The question is:

"That the Bill be carculated for the purpose of eliciting opinion thereon by the 31st March, 1973."

The motion was negatived.

PROF. S. NURUL HASAN: I beg to move:

"That the Bill to provide for the administration of the National Library and certain other connected matters, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members, 30 from this House, namely:—

- (1) Shri Achal Singh
- (2) Shri Dharamrao Sharanappa Afzalpurkar
- (3) Shri Virendra Agarwal
- (4) Shri Shrikrishna Agrawal
- (5) Shri Anand Singh
- (6) Shri Panna Lal Barupal
- (7) Shri S. C. Besra
- (8) Shri Biren Engti
- (9) Shri R. R. Singh Deo
- (10) Shri K. Gopal

- (11) Shri Samar Guha
- (12) Shri B. R. Kavade
- (13) Shri E. R. Krishnan
- (14) Shri Y. S. Mahajan
- (15) Shri Kumar Majhi
- (16) Shri H. N. Mukerjee
- (17) Shri Saroj Mukherjee
- (18) Shri Tuna Oraon
- (19) Shri Narain Chand Parashar
- (20) Shri Natwarlal Patel
- (21) Shri Ramubhai Ravjibhai Patel
- (22) Shri P. Antony Reddi
- (23) Shri P. Ganga Reddy
- (24) Shri Sakti Kumar Sarkar
- (25) Shri S. A. Shamim
- (26) Shri Rajaram Shastri
- (27) Shri Somehand Solanki
- (28) Shri K. P. Unnikrishnan
- (29) Shri Amarnath Vidyalankar
- (30) Shri D. P. Yaday

and 15 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee.

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the 15th day of March, 1973;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That the Bill to provide for the administration of the National Library and certain other confected matters, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members, 30 from this House, namely:—

- (1) Shri Achal Singh
- (2) Shri Dharamrao Sharanappa Afzalpurkar
- (3) Shri Virendra Agarwal
- (4) Shri Shrikrishna Agrawal
- (5) Shri Anand Singh
- (6) Shri Panna Lal Barupal
- (7) Shri S. C. Besra
- (8) Shri Biren Engti
- (9) Shri R. R. Singh Deo
- (10) Shri K. Gopal
- (11) Shri Samar Guha
- (12) Shri B. R. Kavade
- (13) Shri E. R. Krishnan
- (14) Shri Y. S. Mahajan
- (15) Shri Kumar Majhi
- (16) Shri H. N. Mukerjee
- (17) Shri Saroi Mukherjee
- (18) Shri Tuna Oraon
- (19) Shri Narain Chand Parashar
- (20) Shri Natwarlal Patel
- (21) Shri Ramubhai Ravjibhai Patel
- (22) Shri P. Antony Reddi
- (23) Shri P. Ganga Reddy
- (24) Shri Sakti Kumar Sarkar
- (25) Shri S. A. Shamim
- (26) Shri Rajaram Shastri

- (27) Shri Somchand Solanki
- (28) Shri K. P. Unnikrishnan
- (29) Shri Amarnath Vidyalankar
- (30) Shri D. P. Yadav

and 15 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the 15th day of March, 1973;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

The motion was adopted.

17.55 hrs.

MR. SPEAKER: Now, there will be no half-an-hour discussion as Shri A. P. Sharma is not here.

Now we are left with one hour and five minutes. Now, we may take up Mr. A. K. Gopalan's Resolution.

SHRI G. VISWANATHAN (Wandiwash): Mr. Gopalan's Resolution can go to the next session.

MR. SPEAKER: Do all of you agree?

SOME HON MEMBERS: Yes.

SHRI B. K. DASCHOWDHURY (Cooch-Behar): Sir, for postponing the discussion on the existing Resolution to the next session, I have no

objection; but kindly allow me tomove my Resolution also. (Interruption) Let me finish my submission. Hardly there is any chance in theballot.

MR. SPEAKER: Before this is over, how can you move the other one?

SHRI B. K. DASCHOWDHURY: It happened in the past, in the last Lok Sabha. I remember, there was a Resolution moved by Shri Prakash Vir Shastri, with the consent of the House. It happened on the last coccasion. It happened in the last Lok Sabha which I still remember. That was a very important resolution in the name of Shri Prakash Vir Shastri.

MR. SPEAKER: No, no. That will be setting up a very bad precedent....

SHRI B. K. DASCHOWDHURY: I beg of the House and you, Sir, that with the consent of the House, in the next session also, we may continue my Resolution. Otherwise hardly we get a chance in the ballot.

MR. SPEAKER: Will you please sit down? Consent about what—about something which is not there, which is not moved? Do you agree to this, Mr. Gopalan, or, do you want to sit? We are prepared to sit.

SHRI A. K. GOPALAN (Palghat): If the House wants to sit, I have no objection. I have no objection at all if it goes to the next session.

SHRI SEZHIYAN (Kumbakonam): He has no objection to take it to the next session.

MR. SPEAKER: Are you agreeable to this?

SEVERAL HON. MEMBERS: Yes.

MR. SPEAKER: This is agreed to.