14 25 hrs

CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL\*

(Amendment of Part IV)

श्री भोगेन्द्र झा (जयनगर) उपाध्यक्ष महोदय. में प्रस्ताव करता ह कि भारत के सविधान का धीर मजोधन वरने वाने विधेयक को पुर स्यापित करने की अप्रमित दी जाय।

MR DEPUTY-SPEAKER The ques tion is

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill further to amend the Constitution of India "

The motion was adopted

श्री भोगेन्द्र हा मै विधेयक को पूरस्था-धित करता है।

14 26 hrs

SALARIES AND ALLOWANCES OF MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT (AMENDMENT) BILL\*

(Insection of new Section 8 A)

भी पन्नालाल बारूपाल (गगा नगर) उपाध्यक्ष महोदय मैं प्रस्तान करता हूँ कि संसद्

----

सदस्यों के बेतन नथा भरते श्रविनियम, 1954 का भीर सशोधन करने वाले विधेयक की पूर-स्थापित करने की अनुमति दी जाय।

MR DEPUTY-SPEAKER The question is

'Tl t leave he granted to introduce a Bill further to amend the Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parlia. ment Act 1954

SHPI S M BANERJFF (Kanpur) I oppose this Bill A similar Bill was sought to be introduced just now by Shri Y P Mandal Shri Panna Lal Baruupal, who looks after the welfare of the hon Members so well, says in this Rill

"A member shall, on ceasing to be a member of either House of Parliament -

(1) be entitled to receive a pension at the rate of three hundred rupees per mensem ,"

Have you ever heard of a person drawing a salary of Rs 500 getting a ,

<sup>\*</sup> Published in Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part II, Section 2, dated 28-5.71,...

pension of Rs. 300, which is more than 50 per cent?

Division No. 2

14.50 hrs.

SHRI K. S. CHAVDA (Patan): So, his objection is to the amount Rs. 300. He is agreeable to Rs. 250.

SIIRI S. M. BANERJEE: Then he wants one more facility, a free first-class pass. He says in the Statement of Objects and Reasons:

"After serving the cause of the Nation in their capacity as Members of Parliament, some of the Members, on ceasing to be Members of Parliament are left stranded in life as it is too late for them to adopt any vocation at that late stage."

Then he goes on to say:

"The purpose of this Bill is to instil in the Members a sense of security by ensuring a pension for them after they ceased to be Members of Parliament. Furthermore, this provision regarding pension will be an incentive to attract good talent from all walks of life to Parliament."

Sir, I oppose this Bill. When the country is in need of money for so many other pressing needs this Bill is immoral and should be withdrawn.

MR. DEPUTY SPEAKER: The question is:

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill further to amend the Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament Act, 1954."

The Lok Sabha divided:

AYES

Arvind Netam, Shri

Asgar Hussain, Shri

Austin, Dr. Henry

Babunath Singh, Shri

Barman, Shri R. N.

Barupal, Shri P. L.

Basapra, Shri K.

Bhandare, Shri R. D.

Bhatia, Shri D. D.

Bhattacharyya, Shri C. E.

Bhuvaraban, Shri

Chakleshwar Singh, Shri

Chanda, Shrimati Jyotsna

Chandrashekharappa, Shri T. V.

Chandre Gowda, Shri

Chellachami, Shri

Deo, Shri S. N. Singh

Dhamankar, Shri

Dhusia, Shri Anant Prasad

Dumada, Shri L. K.

Gautam, Shri C. D.

Gogoi, Shri Tarun

Gopal, Shri K.

Goswami, Shri Dinesh Chandra

Hansda, Shri Subodh

Horo, Shri N. E.

Jadeja, Shrı

Joshi, Shri Popatlal

Kadra, Shri

Kailas, Dr.

Kakoti, Shri Robin

Kale, Shri

Kamakshaiah, Shri

Kamle, Shri T. D.

Kavde, Shri B. R.

Kotrashatti, Shri A. K.

Kulkarni, Shri Raja

Laskar, Shri Nihar

Lutfal Haque, Shri

Mahajan, Shri Y. S.

Majhi, Shri Gajadhar

Malhotra, Shri Inder J.

Mandal, Shri Yamuna Prasad

Mishra, Shri Bibhuti

Mishra, Shri Jagannath

Mishra, Shri S. N.

Mohammad Yusuf, Shri

Naik, Shri B. V.

Oraon, Shri Tuna

Palodkar, Shri

Pandey, Shri Damodar

Pandey, Shri R. S.

Pandey, Shri Tarkeshwar

Partap Singh, Shri

Patel, Shri Ramubhai

Patil, Shii E. V. Vikhe

Patil, Shri Krishnarao

Rai, Shrimati Sahodrabai

Rajdo Singh, Shrı

Raju, Shri M. T.

Ram Surat Prasad, Shri

Ram, Shri T.

Ramshekhai Prasad Singh, Shri

Ranabahadur Singh, Shri

Rao, Shri P. A. P.

Rao, Shri Pattabhi Rama

Raut, Shri Bhola

Reddy, Shri Ganga

Reddy, Shri K. K. Rami

Reddy, Shri M. Ram Gopal

Reddy, Shri P. Antony

Reddy, Shri P. Venkata

Sadhu Ram, Shri

Vikal, Shri R. C.

Yadav, Shri N. P.

Yadav, Shri Karan Singh

Sayajirao, Shri Bhattacharyya, Shri Dinen

Sayeed, Shri P. M. Bhattacharyya, Shri Jagadish

Sethi, Shri Arjun Bhattacharyya, Skri S. P.

Shambhu Nath, Shri B. S. Bhaura, Shri B. S.

Shankar Dayal Singh, Shri Bosu, Shri Jyotirmoy

Shastri, Shri Shivpujan Brahman, Shri Rattanlal

Shiva Chandika, Shii Chatterjee, Shri Somnath

Shiyappa, Shri N. Chaudhary, Shri Ishwar

Shivnath Singh, Shri Chauhan, Shri Bharat Singh

Siddayya, Shri S. M. Chayda, Shri K. S.

Sohan Lal, Shri T. Chawle, Shri A. N.

Swaminathan Shri R. U. Deb, Shri Dasaratha

Sonar, Dr. A. G. Dhandapani, Shri

Swamy, Shri Sidrameshwar Dhote, Shri J. B.

Tiwary, Shri K. N. Dutta, Shri Biren

Tombi Singh, Shri N.

Ghosh, Shrimati Bibha

Gupta, Shri Indrajit

Haldar, Shri Madhuryya

Yadav, Shri R. P. Halder, Shri Krishna

Zulfiquar, Ali Khan, Shri Hazra, Shri Manoranjan

NOES Janardhanan, Shri C.

Banera, Shri Hamendra Singh Jha, Shri Bhogendra

Banerjee, Shri S. M. Jhunjhuhwala, Shri Bishwasath

Berwa, Shri Onkar Lai Joseph, Shri M. Mr.

299

Joshi, Shri Jagannathrao Saha, Shri Gadadhar Kachwai, Shri Hukam Chand Sequena, Shri Erasmo de Kalyanasundaram, Shri Sharma, Shri R N Kathamuthu, Shri M Laljı Bhai Shri Shastri, Shri Ramavatar Madhukar, Shri K M Shastri, Shri Shiy Kumar Melkote, Dr. Vajpayce, Shri Atal Bihari Modak, Shri B K Verma, Shri Phool Chand \* Mohammad Yusui, Shri Vijay Pal Singh, Shri Mukherjee, Shri Samar Yadav, Shri Shiv Shanker Prasad Mukherjee, Shri Saroi DEPUTY SPEAKER Munshi Shri P R Das result \*\* of the Division is as follows ---Aves 92, Noes 55 Nayak, Shri Boksi The motion was adopted Panda, Shri D K श्री प नालाल बारूपाल मे विधेयक को Pandey, Dr Laxminarain पेश करताह। Ramkanwar, Shri Reddy, Shri B N, Mr DIPUTY SPFAKER Item No 12 Shr: Sreekanthan Nair-Absent, Item Roy, Dr Saradish No 13 Dr Karni Singh-Absent, Maharaja

Saha, Shri A K

Shankar-rao Savant, Purushottam Kakodkar, Mohammad Tahir, T Balakrishniah, V Tulsiram and Amarsinh Chaudhury

Noes Sarvashri Ram Deo Singh, M Bishma Dev, K. Remakrishna Reddy and R. V. Bade

Mattand Singh-Absent, Shri Fatesinghrao

Gaekwad-Absent

<sup>\*</sup> Wrongly voted for Noes.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The following members also recorded their Votes

Ayes Sarvashii Dharnidhar Das, R. B Paswan, S. L. Peje, J. N. Mandal Narain Chand Parashar, Mani Ram Godara, H. K. L. Bhagat