12.39 hrs.

CENTRAL SALES TAX (AMENDMENT) BILL

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI K. R. GANESH): I beg to move :

"That the Bill further to amend the Central Sales Tax Act, 1956, be referred to a Select Committee consisting of 30 members, namely :---

- (1) Shri Dharmarao Sharanappa Afzalpurkar
- (2) Shri Chhatrapati Ambesh
- (3) Dr. Henry Austin
- (4) Shri R. V. Bade
- (5) Shri Bashweshwar Nath Bhargava
- (6) Shri Somnath Chatterice
- (7) Shri Tridib Chaudhuri
- (8) Shri Y. B Chavan
- (9) Shri C. C. Desai
- (10) Shri Shiyaji Rao S. Deshmukh
- (11) Shri Larun Gogoi
- (12) Shri N. E. Horo
- (13) Shri M Muhammad Ismail
- (14) Shu D. P. Jadeja
- (15) Shri Sat Pal Kanput
- (16) Shri B. R. Kavade
- (17) Shri E. R. Kushnan
- (18) Shri Maharaj Singh
- (19) Shri D. K. Panda
- (20) Shri H. M. Patel
- (21) Shri P. Antony Reddi
- (22) Shri Deveudra Satpathy
- (23) Shri P. M. Sayeed
- (24) Shri M. R. Sharma
- (25) Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma
- (26) Shri Shiv Kumai Shastri
- (27) Shri B. R. Shukla
- (28) Shri Sant Bux Singh
- (29) Shri R. P. Yadav; and
- (30) Shri K. R. Ganesh

with instructions to report by the last day of the first week of the next session." SHRI K. S. CHAVDA (Patan): Sir, I request that the name of Shri Prasannbhai Mehta be substituted in place of Shri C. C. Desai.

SHRI K. R. GANESH : This is acceptable.

MR. SPEAKER : That is agreed to. So, I shall put the motion moved by Shri Ganesh in its amended form. The question is :

"That the Bill further to amend the Central Sales Tax Act, 1956, be referred to a Select Committee consisting of 30 members, namely :---

- (1) Shri Dhaimaiao Sharanappa Afzalpurkar
- (2) Shri Chhatrapati Ambesh
- (3) Dr. Henry Austin
- (4) Shri R. V. Bade
- (5) Shri Bashweshwar Nath Bhargava
- (6) Shri Somnath Chatterjee
- (7) Shri Tridib Chaudhuri
- (8) Shri Y B Chavan
- (9) Shri Prasannbhai Mehta
- (10) Shri Shivaji Rao S. Deshmukh
- (11) Shri Taiun Gogoi
- (12) Shri N. L. Horo
- (13) Shri M. Muhammed Ismail
- (14) Shri D. P. Jadeja
- (15) Shri Sat Pal Kapur
- (16) Shri B R. Kavade
- (17) Shri E. R. Krishnan
- (18) Shri Maharaj Singh
- (19) Shri D. K. Panda
- (20) Shri H. M. Patel
- (21) Shri P. Antony Reddy
- (22) Shu Devendra Satpathy
- (23) Shri P. M. Sayced
- (24) Shri M. R. Sharma
- (25) Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma
- (26) Shri Shiv Kumar Shastri
- (27) Shri B. R. Shukla
- (28) Shri Sant Bux Singh
- (29) Shri R. P. Yadav ; and
- (30) Shri K. R. Ganesh

[Mr. Speaker]

with instructions to report by the last day of the first week of the next session."

The motion was adopted.

12,41 hrs.

PREVENTION OF WATER POLLUTION BILL

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY PLANNING (SHRI D. P. CHATTOPADH-YAYA) : Sir, I beg to move :

"That this House do concur in the recommendation of Rajya Sabha that the House do join in the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to provide for the prevention of water pollution and the maintaining or restoring of wholesomeness of water, for the establishment, with a view to carrying out the purposes aforesaid, of Prevention of Water Pollution Boards, for conferring on such Boards functions relating thereto and for matters connected therewith, made in the motion adopted by Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on the 30th July, 1971 and communicated to this House on the 31st July, 1971 and do resolve that the following 24 members of Lok Sabha be nominated to serve on the said Joint Committee, namely :---

- (1) Shri Maganti Ankineedu
- (2) Shri Kondajji Basappa
- (3) Shri Onkar Lai Berwa
- (4) Shri Chakleshwar Singh
- (5) Shri Chhutten Lal
- (6) Shri G. C. Dixit
- (7) Shri T. H. Gavit
- (8) Snri Mani Ram Godara
- (9) Shri K. Gopal
- (10) Shri Samar Guha
- (11) Shri M. M. Hashim
- (12) Shri A. K Kisku
- (13) Hazi Lutfal Haque
- (14) Shri Yamuna Prasad Mandal
- (15) Shri Shyamnandan Mishra
- (16) Shri Mohan Swarup
- (17) Shri Rajaram Dada Saheb Nimbalkar

- (18) Shri Ramji Ram
- (19) Shri P. Ganga Reddy
- (20) Dr. Saradish Roy
- (21) Shri S. A. Shamim
- (22) Shri Ramavatar Shastri
- (23) Shri S. D. Singh; and
- (24) Shri G. Vishwanathan."

SHRI SEZHIYAN (Kumbakonam) : Sir, I want to make one slight alternation here. Instead of Shri G. Viswanathan at No. 24 I want to include the name of Shri R. P. Ulganambi.

SHRI K. S. CHAVDA (Patan): Sir, with your permission I request that instead of Shri Shyamnandan Mishra, Shri N. N. Patel be nominated to the Joint Committee.

SHRI CHINTAMANI PANIGRAHI (Bhubaneswar) : Sir, there is something wrong in that party then.

SHRI S. M. BANERJEE (Kanpur) : Sir, before you give your consent let me say that some thing very wrong has taken place in that party. Every time there is an amendment, After all the Chief Whip or the Deputy Chief Whip of the ruling party goes to each party and consults them about the names. How is it that every time the name is changed ?

MR. SPEAKER : I am not concerned with what happens behind the scenes.

SHRI D. P. CHATTOPADHYAYA : Sir, 1 accept both the amendments.

MR. SPEAKER : I shall now put the motion in the amended form.

The question is :

"That this House do concur in the recommendation of Rajya Sabha that the House do join in the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to provide for the prevention of water pollution and the maintaining or restoring of wholesomeness of water, for the establishment, with a view to carrying out the purposes aforesaid, of Prevention of Water Pollution Boards, for conferring on such Boards functions relating thereto and for matters connected therewith, made in the motion adopted by Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on the 30th July, 1971