Presidential Election

MR. SPEAKER: I assure you that, personally, and also representing the House, I am not myself prepared to compromise my position. We have seen something in the Press. Let me have a little more information about it. We are here. We shall meet in the Committee. I will place the matter before you.

SHRI SHYAMNANDAN MISHRA: The Attorney-General should have made the position absolutely clear to the court that in no case the Speaker could be dragged in the matter. That is more important.

SOMNATH CHATTERJEE: This must be conveyed to the Attorney-General.

SHRI H. N. MUKERJEE: What the Government's view on the matter? The Law Minister is here.

MR. SPEAKER: We shall call the Law Minister also to that meeting.

SHRI SEZHIYAN: Can he not give his view right now?

THE MINISTER OF LAW, JUSTICE AND COMPANY AFFAIRS (SHRI H. R. GOKHALE): At the present moment I personally do not what transpired in the court. I have also read only in the papers. I will get the facts certainly from the Attorney-General and lay them before you in the General purposes Committee. It is a judicial order which may be a right order or a wrong (Interruptions).

MR. SPEAKER: Please drop it now. I have already indicated that we shall discuss this in the General Purposes General Purposes Committee. The Committee is a very high level Committee in which all the leaders and all Chairmen of the Committees are represented. They are very mature people and they can give good guidance.

Now we go to the next item.

12.54 hrs.

CODE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE (AMENDMENT) BILL

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF LAW, JUSTICE AND COMPANY AFFAIRS (SHRI NITI-RAJ SINGH CHAUDHARY): to move:

"That the Bill further to amend the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908, and the Limitation Act. 1963 referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members, 30 from this House, namely: -

Shri R. V. Bade,

Shri T. Balakrishniah

Shri Narendra Singh Bisht.

Shri Chandrika Prasad.

Shri A. M. Chellachami.

Shri M. C. Daga.

Sardar Mohinder Singh Gill,

Shri H. R. Gokhale,

Shri Dinesh Joarder,

Shri B. R. Kavade,

Shri L. D. Kotoki,

Shrimati T. Lakshmikanthamma,

Shri Madhu Limaye,

Shri Debendra Nath Mahata,

Shri V. Mayavan,

Shri Mohammad Tahir,

Shri Surendra Mohanty,

Shri Noorul Huda.

Shri D. K. Panda.

Shri Prabhudas Patel,

Shri K. Pradhani,

Shri Raideo Singh.

Shri M. Satvanarayan Roa,

Shrimati Savitri Shvam.

Shri R. N. Sharma.

Shri Satyendra Narayan Sinha,

Shri T. Sohan Lal,

[Shri Niti Raj Singh Chaudhry]

Shri Sidrameshwar Swamy,

Shri R. G. Tiwari.

Shri Niti Raj Singh Chaudhary,

and 15 members from Raiya Sabha:

That in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee:

That the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last of the Twelfth Session of Fifth Lok Sabha;

That is other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

That this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committe."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That the Bill further to amend the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908, and the Limitation Act, 1963 be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members, 30 from this House, namely:-

Shri R. V. Bade,

Shri T. Balakrishniah,

Shri Narendra Singh Bisht,

Shri Chandrika Prasad,

Shri A. M. Chellachami,

Shri M. C. Daga,

Sardar Mohinder Singh Gill,

Shri H. R. Gokhale,

Shri Dinesh Joarder,

Shri B. R. Kavade,

Shri L. D. Kotoki,

Shrimati T. Lakshmikanthamma,

Shri Madhu Limaye.

Shri Debendra Nath Mahata.

Shri V. Mayavan.

Shri Mohammad Tahir,

Shri Surendra Mohanty,

Shri Noorul Huda.

Shri D. K. Panda,

Shri Prabhudas Patel.

Shri K. Pradhani.

Shri Raideo Singh.

Shri M. Satyanarayan Roa,

Shrimati Savitri Shyam.

Shri R. N. Sharma.

Shri Satyendra Narayan Sinha,

Shri T. Sohan Lal,

Shri Sidrameshwar Swamy,

Shri R. G. Tiwari,

Shri Niti Raj Singh Chaudhary,

and 15 members from Rajya Sabha:

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

That the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last of the Twelfth Session of Fifth Lok Sabha;

That in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajys Sabha to the Joint Committe."

The motion was adopted.