श्री **प्रजुंन सिंह भदौरिया** (इटवा): न्होंने प्रपना स्पर्टीकरण पंश करके ग्रीर ग्रपनः डिस्करोजर किया है।

SHRI S. M. BANERJEE (Kanpur): It would have been better if she had made the statement two days before, because the Rajya Sabha adjourned yesterday.

SHRIMATI SHARDA MUKERJEE: Mr. Bhupesh Gupta spoke only yesterday.

MR. SPEAKER: They would be meeting again; it is not that they have adjourned for all the time.

It would be better if members of both Houses do not east reflections on each other. It would be a very unhealthy practice if those members attack the members of this House and if members of this House attack the members of that House. We should observe certain Parliamentary conventions.

SHRI S. M. BANERJEE: Vesterday we wanted a statement to be made on the situation in Uttar Pradesh. You must have read in the newspaper that the President met the leaders of the Opposition, including Shri Charan Singh, Leader of the BKD, yesterday and he has asked for a report from the Governor of U.P. Now, I think, Home Minister will have no objection to make a statement here. (Interruptions) Today is the last day. The Home Minister should make a statement. I do not want any (Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: I have received your letter. I have forwarded it to the Home Minister for a statement.

With the permission of the House, I would first take up the motions for reference to Select/Joint Committees.

11.25 hrs.

TAXATION LAWS (AMENDMENT) BILL

MR. SPEAKER: As far as item No. 20 is concerned, the motion is that it be referred to a Select Committee. The names are given.

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI P. C. SETHI): Sir, there are some changes in the names.

AN HON. MEMBER: How can they change it? (Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: The Minister has got the right to make changes even till the last minute.

AN HON. MEMBER: He should take your permission and change it.

SHRI P. C. SETHI: I am moving the motion standing in my name. With your permission I am adding two more names, namely, Shri Chintamani Panigrahi and Shri Yashwant Singh Kushwah.

SOME HON. MEMBERS: Why?

SHRI P. C. SETHI: There is an Independent Group which was completely left out. So we have included one from the Opposition and one from the Congress.

I beg to move:

"That the Bill further to amend the Income-Tax Act, 1961, the Wealth-tax Act, 1957, the Gift-tax Act, 1958 and the Companies (Profits) Surtax Act, 1964, be referred to a Select Committee consisting of 28 members, namely:—

Shri Jahan Uddin Ahmed

Sardar Buta Singh
Shri N. C. Chatterji
Shri J. K. Choudhury
Shri S. R. Damani
Shri N. Dandeker
Shri Pattiam Gopalan
Shri Kanwar Lal Gupta
Shri B. N. Katham
Shri Yashwant Singh Kushwah
Shri V. Krishnamoorthi
Shri Brij Bhushan Lal
Shri P. Govinda Menon
Shri H. H. Raja Yeshwantrao
M. Mukne

Shri Chintamani Panigrahi

Shri S. B. Patil

Shri Shiva Chandika Prasad Shri R. Dasaratha Rama Reddy Shri Bishwanath Roy
Shri K. P. Salve
Shri N. K. Sanghi
Shri Yogendra Sharma
Shri Janardan Jagannath
Shinkre
Shri R. K. Sinha
Shri N. K. Somani
Shri Tenneti Viswanatham
Shri Ram Sewak Yadav; and
Shri Prakashchand B. Sethi.

with instructions to report by the last day of the first week of the next session."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

That the Bill further to amend the Income-tax Act, 1961, the Wealth-tax Act, 1957, the Gift-tax Act, 1958 and the Companies (Profits) Surtax Act, 1964, be referred to a Select Committee consisting of 28 members, namely:—

Shri Jahan Uddin Ahmed Sardar Buta Singh Shri N. C. Chatterji Shri J. K. Choudhury Shri S. R. Damani Shri N Dandeker Shri Pattiam Gopalan Shri Kanwar Lal Gupta Shri B. N. Katham Shri Yashwant Singh Kushwah Shri V. Krishnamoorthi Shri Brij Bhushan Lal Shri P. Govinda Menon H. H. Raja Yeshwantrao M. Mukne Shri Chintamani Panigrahi Shri S. B. Patil Shri Shiva Chandika Prasad Shri R. Dasaratha Rama Reddy Shri Bishwanath Roy Shri N. K. P. Salve Shri N. K. Sanghi Shri Yogendra Sharma Shri Janardan Jagannath Shinkare Shri R. K. Sinha Shri N. K. Somani

Shri Tenneti Viswanatham Shri Ram Sewak Yadav; and Shri Prakashchand B. Sethi. instructions to report by the last

with instructions to report by the last day of the first week of the next session.

The motion was adopted

11.26 hrs.

CENTRAL EXCISES BILL

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI P. C. SETHI): Here also with your permission I make two changes. In the place of Shri Kanwar Lal Gupta. Shri Om Prakash Tyagi is included and in the place of Shri Yajna Datt Sharma. Shri Bansh Narain Singh is included.

I beg to move:

"That the Bill to consolidate and amend the law relating to the Central duties of excise, be referred to a Select Committee consisting of 24 members, namely:—

Shri B. R. Bhagat Shri Onkar Lal Bohra Shri C. K. Chakrapani Shri Valmiki Chaudhary Shri C. C. Desai Shri P. K. Ghosh Shri Lakhan Lal Gupta Shri Z. M. Kahandole Shri Latafat Ali Khan Shri S. M. Krishna Shri Maharaj Singh Shri F. H. Mohsin Shri J. H. Patel Shri S. D. Patil Shri N. G. Ranga Shrimati Uma Roy Shri Erasmo de Sequeira Shri Era Sezhiyan Shri Prakash Vir Shastri Shri Bansh Narain Singh Shri S. M. Solanki Shri K. Suryanarayana Shri Om Prakash Tyagi; and Shri Prakashchand B. Sethi.

with instructions to report by the last day of the first week of the next session."

SHRI S. M. BANERJEE (Kanpur): I protest on behalf of Shri Kanwar Lal Gupta.

शी प्रकाशबीर शास्त्री (हापुड) : में एक निवेदन करना चाहता हूं कि कल में ने स्वयं संसद-कार्य मंत्री से निवेदन किया