16.20 hrs.

CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL—Contd.

(Insertion of New article 83A) by Shri C. K. Chandrappan.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: Now, on the last occasion we had to adjourn the House because we did not have the quorum while voting on the Constitution (Amendment) Bill moved by Shri Chandrappan. We will have to clear the Lobbies

SHRI P. G. MAVALANKAR (Ahmedabad): When this Bill was under discussion a fortnight ago, the situation was that, two days before that there were holidays and two days after that also there were holidays. Therefore, a number of us could not participate in the discussion. Is there any way of having further discussion on this?

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: No. We have gone beyond all these things

SHRI C. K. CHANDRAPPAN (Tellicherry): Sir, a responsible spokesman of the Government has made a statement that they are going to thoroughly consider the question of electoral reforms in the country. In the light of that, why can't the hon. Minister say that they will reconsider the question? Why should they divide the House and also divide the country on this issue?

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: We have gone beyond that.

SHRI C. K. CHANDRAPPAN: Sir, they could not reject it on that day. Now can they not reconsider the matter? Can they not agree to circulate it in the context of Government considering the question? Or, do they want to divide the House and the country on this issue? I do not know why they should be so rigid.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: I think, we have gone beyond this stage. I

had called for a division on that day. It was just purely on a technical ground that day that we could not complete the business.

Now, let the Lobbies be cleared.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: Now the Lobbies have been cleared.

The question is:

"That the Bill further to amend the Constitution of India, be taken into consideration."

The Lok Sabha divided.
Division No. 3]
16.27 hrs.

AYES

Agarwal, Shri Virendra Bade, Shti R. V Banera, Shri Hamendra Singh Banerjee, Shri S. M. Bhattacharyva Shri Dinen Bhattacharyya, Shri S. P. Chandra Shekhar Singh, Shri Chandrappan, Shri C. K. Durairasu. Shri A. Goswami, Shrimati Bibha Ghosh Kathamuthu, Shri M. Kiruttinan, Shri Tha Lakshmanan, Shri T. S. Lalji Bhai Shri "'Negi. Shri Pratap Singh Pradhan, Shri Dhan Shah Ranabahadur Singh, Shri Shastri, Shri Ramavatar Sivaswamy, Shri M. S. Subravelu, Shri K. Vajpayee, Shri Atal Bihari Vijay Pal Singh, Shri.

NOES

Ansari, Shri Ziaur Rahman Arvind Netam, Shri Azad, Shri Bhagwat Jha Babunath Singh, Shri Basumatari, Shri D. Bhagat, Shri H. K. L. Bhattacharyyia, Shri Chapalendu Bist, Shri Narendra Singh Chavan, Shrimati Premalabai Daga, Shri M. C. Darbara Singh, Shri

^{**}Wrongly voted for AYES.

292

[Mr. Deputy-Speaker]

Deo, Shri S. N. Singh Dhusia, Shri Anant Prasad Dwivedi. Shri Negeshwar Engti. Shri Biren Gokhale, Shri H. R. Gomango, Shri Giridhar Hari Kishore Singh, Shri Ishaque, Shri A K. M. Jadeja, Shri D. P. Jha, Shri Chiranjib Kadam, Shri J. G. Kamble, Shri T. D. Kapur, Shri Sat Pal Karan Singh, Dr. Kasture, Shri A. S. Kaul, Shrimati Sheila Kavde Shri B R. Kinder Lal. Shri Kotoki, Shri Liladhar Krishnan, Shri G. Y. Lakkappa, Shri K. Lakshmikanthamma, Shrimati T. Mahajan, Shri Vikram Mahishi, Dr. Sarojini Mandal, Shri Jagdish Narain Manhar Shri Bhagatram Maurya, Shri B. P. Melkote, Dr. G. S Mishra, Shri Bibhuti Mishra, Shri G. S. Mishra, Shri Jagannath Modi. Shri Shrikishan Mohammad Yusuf, Shri Murthy Shri B. S. Painuli, Shri Paripoornanand Pandey, Shri Damodar Pandey, Shri Sudhakar Panigrahi, Shri Chintamani Paokai Haokip, Shri Partan Singh, Shri Patil, Shri Anantrao Patil. Shri Krishnarao Peje Shri S. L. Raghu Ramaiah, Shri K. Raj Bahadur, Shri Rao, Shri K. Narayana Rao, Shri M. S. Sanjeevi Rao, Shri Nageswara

Reddy, Shri M. Ram Gopal Reddy, Shri P. Ganga Roy, Shri Bishwanath Samanta, Shri S. C. Sankata Prasad, Dr. Sant Bux Singh, Shri *Sarkar, Shri Sakti Kumar Savitri Shyam. Shrimatı Sayeed, Shri P. M. Sethl, Shri Arjun Shahnawaz Khan, Shri Shambhu Nath, Shri Shankar Dayal Singh, Shri Shankaranand, Shri B Sharma, Shri A. P. Sharma, Dr. Shanker Dayal Shastri. Shri Sheobujan Shenoy, Shri P. R. Shivnath Singh, Shri Sinha, Shri Nawal Kishore Sinha, Shri R. K. Sokhi Shri Swaran Singh Suryanarayane, Shri K. Tiwary, Shri D. N. Tulsiram, Shri V. Uikev. Shri M. G. Unnikrishnan, Shri K. P. Venkatswamy, Shri G. Vidyalankar, Shri Amarnath Yadav, Shri R P.

MR DEPUTY-SPEAKER: The result* of the division is:

Ayes 22

Noes 89

The motion is not carried by a majority of the total membership of the House and by a majority of not less than two-thirds of the members present and voting.

The motion was negatived.

^{*}He voted by mistake from a wrong seat and later informed the Speaker accordingly.

^{**}The following Members also recorded their votes for NOES:
Prof. Narain Chand Parashar and Shri Pratap Singh Negi.