[Mr. Speaker]
that in other respects the Rules of
Procedure of this House relating to
Parliamentary Committees shall
apply with such variations and
modifications as the Speaker may

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

The motion was adopted.

## 16.34 hrs.

275

make; and

MENTAL HEALTH BILL .

स्वास्थ्य ग्रौर परिवार कल्याण मंत्री (श्री राज नारायण ) : मैं प्रस्ताव करता हूं : "कि मानसिक रूप से वीमार व्यक्तियों के

उपचार श्रौर उनकी देख-रेख से सम्बन्धित विधि का समेकन श्रौर संशोधन करने के लिए, उनकी सम्पत्ति श्रौर कार्यकलापों की बाबत बेहतर उपबन्ध करने के लिए श्रौर उससे सम्बन्धित या उसके श्रानुष्पिक विषयों के लिए विधेयक को दोनो सभाग्रों की एक संयुक्त समिति को सौंपा जाए, जिसमें 45 सदस्य हों, इस सभा के 30 श्रर्थात्:—

(1) श्री सुभाष चन्द्र बोस श्रस्ल्र्री, (2) डा. बलदेव प्रकाश, (3) श्री के० त्री० चौधरी, (4) श्री अनन्त दवे, (5) श्री राज किशन डान, (6) चौधरी हरी राम मक्कासर गोदरा, (7) श्री हरिकेश बहादुर, (8) श्री एस० जगन्नाथन (9) श्री कचरुलाल हेमराज जैन, (10) श्री हुकम चन्द कछवाय, (11) श्री राम चन्द्रन कडनापल्ली, (12) डा० बापू कालदते, (13) श्री राज शेखर कल्लूर, (14) डा० सरोजिनी महिषी, (15) श्री मिल्लकाजून, (16) डा० विजय मंडल, (17) श्री एस० जी० मुरुगय्यन, (18), डा० सुशीला नायर, (19) श्री टी० ए० पाई, (20) श्री के रामामूर्ति, (21) श्री रूडोल्फ रोडरीग्स, (22) डा० सरदीश राय, (23) श्री शक्ति कुमार सरकार, (24) श्री श्री कृष्ण सिंह, (25), श्री एच०एल० पी० सिन्हा,

(26) श्री सूरज भान, (27) श्री

ग्रीर राज्य सभा के 15;

टोम्बीं सिंह, (28) श्री जगदम्बी प्रसाद यादव,

(29) श्री युवराज, (30) श्री राज नारायण

कि संयुक्त समिति की बैठक गठित करने के लिए गणपूर्ति संयुक्त समिति की कुल सदस्य संख्या -की एक तिहाई होगी,

कि समिति ग्रागामी सत्न के पहलेदिनः तकइस सभाको प्रतिवेदन करदेगी,

कि ग्रन्य मामलों में संसदीय समितियों से सम्बन्धित इस सभा के प्रक्रिया नियम ऐसे परिवर्तन तथा रूपभेदों के साथ जैसा कि ग्रध्यक्ष करें, लागू होंगे, ग्रौर

कि यह सभा राज्य सभा से सिफारिश करती है कि राज्य सभा उक्त संयुक्त सिमिति में सिम्मिलित हो तथा जसंयुक्त सिमिति में राज्य सभा द्वारा नियुक्त किये जाने वाले 15 सदस्यों के नाम इस सभा को सुचित करे।"

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

amend the law relating to the treatment and care of mentally ill per-

sons, to make better provision with

"That the Bill to consolidate and

respect to their property and affairs and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members, 30 from this House, namely:—(1). Shri Subhash Chandra Bose Alluri, (2) Dr. Baldev Prakash, (3) Shri K. B. Choudhari, (4) Shri Anant Dave, (5) Shri Raj Krishna Dawn, (6) Ch. Hari Ram Makkasar Godara, (7) Shri Harikesh Bahadur, (8) Shri S. Jaganathan, (9) Shri

Kacharulal Hemraj Jain, (10) Shri

Hukam Chand Kachwai, (11) Shri

Ramachandran Kadannappalli, (12) Dr. Bapu Kaldate, (13) Shri Rajshekhar Kolur, (14) Dr. Sarojini Mahishi, (15) Shri Mallikarjun, (16) Dr. Bijoy Mandal, (17) Shri S. G. Murgaiyan, (18) Dr. Sushila Nayar, (19) Shri T. A. Pai, (20) Shri K. Ramamurthy, (21) Shri

Rudolph Rodrigues, (22) Dr. Saradish Roy, (23) Shri Sakti Kumar Sarkar, (24) Shri Shrikrishna Singh, (25) Shri H. L. P. Sinha, (26) Shri Suraj Bhan, (27) Shri N. Tombi Singh, (28) Shri Jagdambi Prasad Yadav, (29) Shri

Narain 🚜

and 15 from Rajya Sabha;

Yuvraj, (30) Shri Raj

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee:

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the first day of the next session;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

The motion was adopted.

## PRESS COUNCIL BILL

THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SHRI L. K. ADVANI): I beg to move:

"That this House do concur in the recommendation of Rajya Sabha that the House do join in the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to establish a Press Council for the purpose of preserving the freedom of the Press and of maintaining and improving the standards of newspapers and news agencies in India, made in the motion adopted by Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on the 1st March, 1978 and communicated to this House on the 3rd March, 1978 and do resolve that the following 20 Members of Lok Sabha be nominated to serve on the said Joint Committee, namely:—(1) Shri Nanasahib Bonde, (2) Shri Somnath Chatterjee, (3) Shri Ishwar Chaudhury, (4) Shri S. R. Damani, (5) Shri Giridhar Gomango, (6) Shri Nirmal Chandra Jain,

(7) Shri P. Kannan, (8) Shri P. G.

Mavalankar, (9) Shri Md. Hayat Ali, (10) Shri Amrit Nahata, (11) Shri Phirangi Prasad, (12) Shri Ratansinh Rajda, (13) Shri Balwant Singh Ramuwalia, (14) Shri Jagannath Rao, (15) Shri Jalagam Kondala Rao, (16) Shri P. M. Sayeed, (17) Shri Surath Bahadur Shah, (18) Shri Digvijaya Narain Singh, (19) Shri P. Venkatasubbaiah, (20) Shri Yadvendra Dutt."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:
"That this House do concur in the

recommendation of Raiva Sabha that the House do join in the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to establish a Press Council for the purpose of preserving the freedom of the Press and of maintaining and improving the standards of newspapers and news agencies in India, made in the motion adopted by Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on the 1st March, 1978 and communicated to this House on the 3rd March, 1978 and do resolve that the following 20 Members of Lok Sabha be nominated to serve on the said Joint Committee, namely: (1) Shri Nanasahib Bonde, (2) Shri Somnath Chatterjee, (3) Shri Ishwar Chaudhry, (4) Shri S. R. Damani, (5) Shri Girdhar Gomango, (6) Shri Nirmal Chandra Jain, (7) Shri P. Kannan, (8) Shri P. G. Mavalankar, (9) Shri Md. Hayat Ali, (10) Shri Amrit Nahata, (11) Shri Phirangi Prasad, (12) Shri Ratansinh Rajda, (13) Shri Balwant Singh Ramuwalia, (14) Shri Jagannath Rao, (15) Shri Jalagam Kondala Rao, (16) Shri P. M. Sayeed, (17) Shri Surath Bahadur Shah, (18) Shri Digvijaya Narain Singh, (19) Shri P. Venkatasubbaiah, and (20) Shri Yadvendra Dutt."

The motion was adopted.

THE MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS AND LABOUR (SHRI RAVINDRA VARMA): Regarding item No. 27, it was decided that it would be taken up in the next