tion (Regulation) Act, 1976. [Placed in Library. See No. LT-1670/78].

INCOME-TAX (AMENDMENT) RULES, 1978 NOTIFICATIONS UNDER CUSTOMS ACT, 1962 AND UNDER CENTRAL EXCISE RULES 1944 AND ANNUAL REPORT OF GENERAL INSURANCE CORPORATION FOR 1975

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI SATISH AGRAWAL): On behalf of Shri Zulfiquarullah, I beg to lay on the Table:—

- (1) A copy of the Income-Tax (Amendment) Rules, 1978 (Hindi and English versions) published in Notification No. S.O. 24(E) in Gazette of India dated the 18th January, 1978, under section 296 of the Income-tax Act, 1961. [Placed in Library. See No. LT-1671/78.]
- (2) A copy of Notification No. G.S.R. 79(E) (Hindi and English versions) published in Gazette of India dated the 21st February, 1978, under section 159 of the Customs Act, 1962, together with an explanatory memorandum. [Placed in Library. See No. LT-1672/78.]
- (3) A copy each of Notifications No. G.S.R. 38(E) to 40(E) published in Gazette of India dated the 24th January, 1978, issued under the Central Excise Rules, 1944 together with an explanatory memorandum. [Placed in Library. See No. LT-1673/78.]
- (4) A copy of the Annual Report (Hindi and English versions) on the working and affairs of the General Insurance Corporation of India and its subsidiaries for the year ended 31st December, 1975. [Placed in Library. See No. LT-1674/78.]

12.01 hrs.

MESSAGES FROM RAJYA SABHA

SECRETARY: Sir, I have to report the following messages received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:—

(i) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha, at its sitting held on the 1st March, 1978, has passed the enclosed motion referring the Press Council Bill, 1977 to a Joint Committee of the Houses, and to request that the concurrence of the Lok Sabha in the said motion and the names of the Members of the Lok Sabha to be appointed to the said Joint Committee may be communicated to this House.

MOTION

"That the Bill to establish a Press Council for the purpose of preserving the freedom of the Press and of maintaining and improving the standards of newspapers and news agencies in India be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members; 10 members from this House, namely:—

- 1. Shri Rabi Ray
- 2. Shri Dinesh Singh
- 3. Shri J. S. Tilak
- 4. Shri Rishi Kumar Mishra
- 5. Shri Shrikant Verma
- 6. Shri Sitaram Kesri
- 7. Shri Jagjit Singh Anand
- 8. Shri P. Ramamurti
- 9. Shri E. R. Krishnan
- 10. Shri Lal K. Advani.

and 20 members from the Lok Sabha:

that in order to constitute a meeting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;