Vol. XXIX First day of the Ninth Session of Seventh Lok Sabha No. 1

LOK SABHA

Thursday, July 8, 1982/Asadha 17, 1904 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock.

[MR. SPEAKER in the Chair]

अध्यक्त महोदय : आपका स्वागत है ।

## MEMBERS SWORN

Shri Jagannath Shivram Fatil (Thane).

Shri Lala Ram Ken [Bayana (SC)]
Shri Deen Bandhu Verma (Udaipur).

Shrimati Sumati Oraon (Lohardaga (ST)]

श्री अटल बिहारी बाजरेयी (नई दिल्ली): अध्यक्ष ब्रह्मदेय, आप महिलाओं को दूर से ही नमस्कार करते हैं।

अध्यक्त महोदयः जाप तो विल्क्त् ही नहीं करते । हमें बड़ों से कुछ सीख लेनी चाहिए ।

## MEMBERS SWORN-Contd.

Shri Baburao Paranjpe (Jabalpur). Shri Amal Datta (Diamond Harbour).

Shri Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna (Garhwal). 11.05 hrs.

## OBITUARY REFERENCES

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, as we meet today after an interval of about two months, it is my sad duty to inform the House of the passing away of Sarvashri Maldevji M. Odedra and Cumbum N. Natarajan, sitting Members and seven of our former collegues, namely Sarvashri Hira Valabh Tripathi, P.T. Thanu pillai, Satya Narayan Singh, Radha Raman, Mirza Mohammad Afzal Beg, Sarvashri Shree Narayan Das and Sarangdhar Sinha.

Shri Maldevji M. Odedra was a sitting Member representing Porbandar constituency of Gujarat. Earlier, he was a Member, Saurashtra Legislative Assembly in 1952, Bombay Legislative Assembly 1957 and Gujarat Legislative Assembly in 1962 and 1972. He has also been Deputy Minister and later Cabinet. Minister for Finance. Forest and Fisheries in the Government of Gujarat during 1960-64 and 1965—67 respectively.

An active social and political worker, he had been associated with several committees of the Gujarat State Government.

He passed away at Bombay on 9 May, 1982 at the age of 64.

Shri Cumbun N. Natarajan was a sitting Member representing Periya-kulam constituency of Tamil Nadu.

An active social worker, he devoted himself to the uplift of the poor people.

He took keen interest in the proceedings of the House particularly relating to problems faced by rural poor.

2

He passed away at Madurai on 30 June, 1982 at the young age of 41.

Shri Hira Vallabh Tripathi was a Member of the Provisional Farliament and First Lok Sabha during 1950—57 representing Muaffarnagar (South) constituency of Uttar Pradesh. He was also a Member of the Rajya Sabha during 1957—72.

A veteran freedom fighter, he took active part in the freedom struggle and suffered imprisonment several times.

A lawyer and an eminent social worker, he was associated with several social and labour organisations.

As a parliamentarian he took keen interest in the proceedings of the House.

He passed away at Kankhal (Hardwar) on 26 April, 1982, at the age of 80.

Shri P. T. Thanu Pillai was a Member of the First and Second Lok Sabha during 1952—62 representing Tirunelveli constituency of Tamil Nadu.

An active social worker, he engaged himself in the task of Harijan welfare, trade union and student activities.

He took special interest in the wellbeing of Indians overseas, particularly in Sri Lanka.

He passed away at Tirunelveli on 15 May, 1982, at the age of 74.

Shri Satya Narain Singh was a Member of the Fourth Lok Sabha during 1967—70 representing Varanasi constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

A veteran freedom fighter, he took active part in the freedom struggle and suffered imprisonment on several occasions.

An active social worker, he devoted himself to the uplift and welfare work of farmers and industrial workers. He passed away at Varanasi on 24th May, 1982 at the age of 69.

Shri Radha Raman was a Member of the First and Second Lok Sabha durng 1952—1962 representing Delhi city and Chandni Chowk constituencies of Delhi, respectively. Later he served as Chief Executive Councillor of Delhi Metropolitan Council during 1972—77.

A veteral freedom fighter, he helped in organising individual satyagraha in 1940.

An active social worker, he engaged himself in cooperative movement a village work. He was associated with several social and educational organisations, particularly those devoted to child welfare. He led the delegation of Members of Parliament to several foreign countries.

He passed away on 8 June, 1982 in Delhi at the age of 78.

Mirza Mohammad Afzal Beg was a Member of the Constituent Assembly and Provisional Parlaiment from Jammu and Kashmir during 1949-1952 He had been a Member of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly in 1934, 1943, 1951-52 and was a sitting Member thereof since 1977. He had also been a Cabinet Minister in the State Government for several years holding important portfolios and also served as Deputy Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir during 1977-78.

A veteran freedom fighter, he suffered imprisonment several times for participating in struggle for freedom and responsible Government in Kashmir State. He sponsored land reforms in Jammu and Kashmir with the aim of transfer of land to the tillers.

He passed away of Srinagar on 11 June, 1982 at the age of 74.

Shri Shree Narayan Das was a Member of the Provisional Parliament and First. Second and Third Lok Sabha during 1950—1967 representing Darbhanga constituency of Bihar. He

was also a Member of Public Accounts Committee during 1950—55.

A veteren freedom fighter and active social worker, he participated in the non-cooperation movement and suffered imprisonment several times during the freedom struggle.

He also participated in the relief work during natural calamities and devoted himself to women's education and eradication of untouchbility. He took special interest in Panchayati Raj and co-operation.

He passed away last month at the age of 80.

Shri Sarangdhar Sinha was a Member of Constituent Assembly during 1946—50 and of the First and Second Lok Sabha representing Patliputra and Patna constituencies of Bihar, respectively, during 1952—62. Earlier he had been a Member of Bihar Legislative Assembly during 1936—51 and was Parliamentary Secretary fo Eduation and Revenue in that state during 1936—39. He functioned as Chairman/Member of various Committees appointed by the State Government.

A veteran freedom fighter, he suffered imprisonment several times during the non-cooperation movement.

A renowned educationist, he was appointed Vice-Chancellor of Patna University and represented Indian Universities at the Conference of the Association of the Universities of Commonwealth, New Zealand in 1950.

He passed away at Patna on 30 June, 1982 at the age of 81.

We deeply mourn the loss of these friends. I am sure the House will join me in conveying our condolences to the bereaved families.

The House may stand in silence for a short while to express its sorrow.

(The Members then stood in silence for short while.)

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Ram Vilas Faswan

SHRI N. K. SHEJWALKAR (Gwalior): Regarding item No. 2 I may mention that the hon. Member Shri Hira-Vallabh Tripathi expired on 26th April, 1982 when the House was in session. Why was the House not informed earlier? The House adjourned on 30th of April, 1982.

MR. SPEAKER: First of all we get confirmation and then do it. We satisfy ourselves first.

SHRI N. K. SHEJWALKAR: Does it take three to five days!

DR. KRUPASINDHU BHOI (Sambalpur): Question No. 1 has been discussed so many times in this House. Half-an-hour discussion had also been there. How has this question been allowed by the Secretariat?

MR. SPEAKER: This is my judgement. Please sit down.

## अखिल भारतीय आयुर्विज्ञान संस्थान का कार्यकरण

 श्री रामविलास पासवानः क्या स्वास्थ्य एटे ए. आई. आई. एम. एस. शीर्षक से कपा करेंगे कि:

(क) क्या सरकार ने डैडली बंगिलंग एट ए. आइ. आई. एम. एस. शोर्षक से 30 अप्रैल, 1982 के "आनल्कर" में तथा "द फाइनल डायगनोसिज आन दी ए. आई. आई. एम. एस." शीर्षक से कौरैवान के मई (दिवतीय) 1982 के अंक से प्रकाशित लेखों को देखा है :

(ख) क्या अखिल भारतीय आयुर्विज्ञान संस्थान के एक सहायक प्रोफेसर डा. पी. वेणगोपाल को 27 सितम्बर, 198! को परिसर में ही दौरा पड़ा था और अस्पताल ले जाने पर उन्हें 18 घंटे बाद एक और दौरा पड़ा;