139 Copyright (Second

16.20 hrs.

COPYRIGHT (SECOND AMENDMENT) BILL

Motion to refer the Bill to Joint Committee

[English]·

THE MINISTER OF HUMAN RE-SOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI ARJUN SINGH): I beg to move:

> " That the Bill further to amend the Copyright Act, 1957, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members, 30 from this House, namely:-

- 1. Shri E. Ahamed
- 2. Shri Anand Ahirwar
- 3. Dr. F. Azam
- 4. Shri Avatar Singh Bhadana
- 5. Shrimati. Dil Kumari Bhandari
- 6. Shri Gurcharan Singh Dadahoor
- 7. Shri Probin Deka
- 8. Shri Sharad Dighe
- 9. Mohammad Ali Ashraf Fatmi
- 10. Shri Imchalemba
- 11. Shri Jai Prakash
- 12. Shri Shyam Lal Kamal
- 13. Smt. Krishnandra Kaur (Deepa)

Amendment) Bill 140

14 Shri M. Krishnaswamy

AUGUST 19,1992

- 15. Kumari Padmasree Kudumula
- 16. Shri V. Dhananjaya Kumar
- 17. Prof. (Shrimati) Savithiri Lakshmanan
- 18. Shri Birsingh Mahato
- 19. Shri Simon Mirandi
- 20. Shri Janardan Prasad Misra
- 21. Shrimati Geeta Mukherjee
- 22. Shri Rupchand Pal

0

- 23. Shri Harpal Panwar
- 24. Shri Rameshwar Patidar
- 25. Dr. R.K.G. Rajulu
- 26. Shri Naranbhai Jamlabhai Rathava
- 27. Shri Bhagwan Shankar Rawat
- 28. Shri Kodakani Eduodana Shivappa
- 29. Shri P.C. Thomas
- 30. Shri Sobhanadreeswara Rao Vadde

and 15 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be onethird of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the Winter Session, 1992; that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint committee and Communicate to this House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the joint Committee."

MR. CHAIRMAN: The question is:

" That the Bill further to amend the Copyright Act, 1957, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 45 members, 30 from this House, namely:-

- 1. Shri E. Ahamed
- 2. Shri Anand Ahirwar
- 3. Dr. F. Azam
- 4. Shri Avatar Singh Bhadana
- 5. Shrimati. Dil Kumari Bhandari
- 6. Shri Gurcharan Singh Dadahoor
- 7. Shri Probin Deka
- Shri Sharad Dighe
- 9. Mohammad Ali Ashraf Fatmi
- 10. Shri Imchalemba
- 11. Shri Jai Prakash
- 12. Shri Shyam Lal Kamal

- 13. Shrimati. Krishnandra Kaur (Deepa)
- 14. Shri M. Krishnaswamy
- 15. Kumari Padmasree Kudumula
- 16. Shri V. Dhananjaya Kumar
- 17. Prof. (Shrimati) Savithiri Lakshmanan
- 18. Shri Birsingh Mahato
- 19. Shri Simon Mirandi
- 20. Shri Janardan Prasad Misra
- 21. Shrimati Geetta Mukherjee
- 22. Shri Rupchand Pal
- 23. Shri Harpal Panwar
- 24. Shri Rameshwar Patidar
- 25. Dr. R.K.G. Rajulu
- 26. Shri Naranbhai Jamlabhai Rathava
- 27. Shri Bhagwan Shankar Rawat
- 28. Shri Kodakani Eduodana Shivappa
- 29. Shri P.C. Thomas
- 30. Shri Sobhanadreeswara Rao Vadde

and 15 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-

[Sh. Arjun Singh]

third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the committee shall make a report to this House by the end of the first week of the Winter Session, 1992;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint committee and Communicate to this. House the names of 15 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the joint Committee."

The motion was adopted.

16.25 hrs.

BANKING COMPANIES (ACQUISITION AND TRANSFER OF UNDERTAKINGS) AMENDMENT BILL CONTD.

[English]

SHRI A. CHARLES (Trivandrum): Sir, the Banking Companies (Acquisition and Transfer of Undertakings) Amendment Bill, 1992 now before the House, has got a very limited purpose, that of enhancement of the ceiling and the paid-up capital from the present level of Rs. 500 crores to Rs. 1500 crores. This has been brought forward on the basis of one of the recommendations contained in the report of the Narshimam Committee. In Para 9 of the Summary Report, this recommendation has been made. So, I stand to support this Bill. I do not find and irregularity in increasing the paid up capital.

^o However, with my limited knowledge of finance and operation of the banking system, I would like to draw the attention of the Minister to a few points of may concern in the whole. But while supporting the Bill, I would like to highlight a few points.

Pare 3 on page iv of the Summary of Report says, and I quote:

"However, both banks and the DFIs have suffered from excessive administrative and political interference in individual credit decision making and internal management."

At many other places also this statement of political interference is seen. I would like to know how political interference is creating problem in individual cases because with my limited experience as the President of a small Association which looks after the small industries. I am sorry to point out that even the recent liberalisation, I am afraid, will be washed out if they are not protected. The same paragraph continues to say, and I quote:

> "The credit target for this redefined priority sector should henceforth be fixed at 10 per cent or aggregate credit which would be broadly in line with the credit flows to these sectors at present."

I totally oppose this. Forty per cent now given for the priority sector cannot be touched under any circumstances because even in the case of 40 per cent, sixteen per cent goes to the agriculture sector. I agree that in the agriculture sector, sixteen per cent be given to the marginal farmers, not to the big farmers, but if we touch the sixteen per cent