1093 Statt. by Minister AGRAHAYANA 29, 1913 (SAKA)Const. (72nd Amend.) 1094 Communal Disturbance in Bill (Insertion of new Part IX, etc.) Palahat in Kerala

ern Range, Kozhikode are camping at Palghat. The State Government have stated that the situation is now under control and police patrolling has been intensified in the areas affected by the communal clash and the situation is being closely watched.

The Central Government is determined to maintain communal peace and harmony in the country. Law and order is a State subject: however, the Centre has from time to time issued quidelines to the States for the promotion of communal harmony. It also shares its intelligence with the States and provides Central forces when necessary. It has also been alerting the States about the possibility of communal violence in different places. Before the BJP started its 'Ekta Yatra' on 11th December, 1991 Ministry of Home advised all the State Governments/UTs to issue strict instructions to the concerned authorities to be more vigilant and keep close watch over the activities of all communal and anti-social elements. A meeting was also convened by the Prime Minister with the leaders of different political parties on 10th December, 1991 to share their considered views in relation to the "Ekta Yatra". Thereafter, I also wrote to the Governors and Chief Ministers of the concerned States and the Lt. Governor of Delhi pointing out that the Yatra could have various implications including those on the law & order front and hoping that a close watch will be kept on the situation arising out of the Yatra and all necessary steps will be taken for the maintenance of security and law and order.

(Interruptions)

SHRI SOMNATH CHATTERJEE: (Bolpur) Our apprehension in justified. Therefore, what is their reaction and what is to be done? Will the Central Government remain as spectators? (Interruptions)

SHRI KODIKKUNIL SURESH: (Adoor) Sir, this is a very serious matter.

(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: ShriG. Venkat Swamy.

17.56 hrs.

CONSTITUTION (SEVENTY-SECOND AMENDMENT) BILL, 1991 (Insertion of new part IX and addition of Eleventh Schedule) Motion to refer to a joint committee.

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI G. VENKAT SWAMY): I beg to move:

> "That the Bill further to amend the Constitution of India, viz., the Constitution (Seventy-second Amendment) Bill, 1991 (Insertion of new part IX and addition of Eleventh Schedule) be referred to a Joint Committee of the House consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:-

- 1. Shri Mani Shankar Aiyar
- 2. Shri Lal Jan S.M. Basha
- 3. Shri H.D. Devegowda
- 4. Shri Digvijaya Singh
- 5. Shri Bhogendra Jha
- 6. Shri D.D. Khanoria
- 7. Shri M.Krishnaswamy
- 8. Shri Nathuram Mirdha
- 9. Shri Nitish Kumar
- 10. Shri Remeshwar Patidar
- 11. Smt.Suryakanta Patil
- 12. Silli R. Ramasamy
- 13. Dr. Sudhir Ray

- 1095 Const. (72nd Amend.) DECEMBER 20, 1991 Bill (Insertion of new
 - 14. Dr. Sakshiji Maharaj Swami
 - 15. Shri P.M. Sayeed
 - 16. Shri Rampal Singh
 - 17. Shri Satya Deo Singh
 - 18. Shri Shiv Sharan Sinha
 - 19. Prof.K.V. Thomas

20. Shri Mukul Balkrishna Wasnik and to from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by last day of the first week of the Budget session, 1992;

that in order respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and Communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

That the Bill further to amend the Constitution of India, viz., the Constitution (Seventy-second Amendment) Bill, 1991 (Insertion of new part IX and addition of Eleventh Schedule) be referred to a Joint Committee of the House consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:-

1. Shri Mani Shankar Aiyar

- 2. Shri Lal Jan S.M. Basha
- 3. Shri H.D. Devegowda
- 4. Shri Digvijaya Singh
- 5. Shri Bhogendra Jha
- 6. Shri D.D. Khanoria
- 7. Shri M.Krishnaswamy
- 8. Shri Nathuram Mirdha
- 9. Shri Nitish Kumar
- 10. Shri Remeshwar Patidar
- 11. Smt.Suryakanta Patil
- 12. Shri R. Ramasamy
- 13. Dr. Sudhir Ray
- 14. Dr. Sakshiji Maharaj Swami
- 15. Shi P.M. Sayeed
- 16. Shri Rampal Singh
- 17. Shri Satya Deo Singh
- 18. Shri Shiv Sharan Sinha
- 19. Prof.K.V. Thomas

20. Shri Mukul Balkrishna Wasnik and to from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a repon to this House by last day of the first week of the Budget session, 1992;

that in order respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply

1097 Const. (73rd Amend.)AGRAHAYANA 29, 1913 (SAKA) Bill (Insertion of new

with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and Communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

The motion was adopted

18.00 hrs

CONSTITUTION (SEVENTY-THIRD AMENDMENT) BILL 1991

(Insertion of New Part IX A and addition of Twelfth Schedule)

[English]

THE MINISTER OF URBAN DEVEL-OPMENT (SHRIMATI SHEILA KAUL): I beg to move:

> "That the Bill further to amend the Constitution of India viz. the Constitution (Seventy-third Amendment) Bill,1991 (Insertion of new part IXA and addition of Twelfth Schedule) be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:-

- 1. Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal
- 2. Shri Chitta Basu
- 3. Shri Girdhari Lal Bhargava
- 4. Prof. Malini Bhattacharya
- 5. Shri Probin Deka
- 6. Shri K.P.Singh Deo
- 7. Prof. Ashokrao Anandrao Deshmukh

- 8. Shri Dau Dayal Joshi
- 9. Shri Shankarrao D.Kale
- 10. Shri Tarachand Kahndelwal

11. Kumari Padmasree Kudumula

- 12. Shrimati Sumitra Mahajan
- 13. Shri Suraj Mandal
- 14. Shri Yelliah Nandi
- 15. Dr. Debi Prosad Pal
- 16. Shri Hari Kewal Prasad
- 17. Shri Ebrahim Sulaiman Sait
- 18. Kumari Selja
- 19. Shri Hari Kishore Singh
- 20. Shri P.C. Thomas

and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the Budget session, 1992;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee"