12.02 hrs.

MESSAGES FROM RAJYA SABHA

(English)

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I have to report the following messages received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

- (i) "In accordance with the provisions of rule 127 of Rules of Procedure and conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha, at its sitting held on the 24th August, 1987, agreed without any amendment to the Essential Commodities (Special Provisions) Continuance Bill, 1987, which was passed by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 20th August, 1987."
- (ii) "In accordance with the provisions of rule 127 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha chat the Rajya Sabha, at its sitting held on the 24th August, 1987, agreed without any amendment to the Cine-Workers Welfare Fund (Amendment) Bill, 1987, which was passed by the Lok Sabha at Its sitting held on the 4th May, 1987."
- (iii) "I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Wednesday, the 12th August, adopted the following motion in regard to the Joint Committee of the Houses on Bofors' Contract:-

"That this House concurs in the

recommendations of the Lok Sabha that a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from Lok Sabha and 10 members of the Raiva Sabha be constituted to enquire into the issues arising from the report of the Swedish National Audit Bureau relating to the Bofors' Contract to supply 155 mm Mowitzer guns to India. made in the motion adopted by the Lok Sabha on the 6th August, 1987, and communicated to this House on the 7th August, 1987 and resolves that this House do join in the said Committee and proved to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, 10 members from among the members of this. House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Joint Committee:-
 - Shri Aladi Aruna Alias V. Arunachalam
 - 2. Shri Darbara Singh
 - 3. Shri H. Hanumanthappa
 - 4. Shri Mirza Irshadbaig
 - 5. Shrimati Kailashpati
 - 6. Shrimati Jayanthi Natarajan
 - 7. Shri Thangabaalu
 - 8. Shri Thomas Kuthiravattom
 - 9. Shri B.V. Abdulla Koya
 - 10. Shri Ghulam Rasool Matto