COMMITTEE ON ABSENCE OF MEMBERS FROM THE SITTINGS OF THE HOUSE

(Thirteenth Lok Sabha)

EIGHTH REPORT

(Presented on 18.12.2001)

- I, the Chairman of the Committee on Absence of Members from the sittings of the House, having been authorised by the Committee to present the Report on their behalf, present this eighth Report.
 - 2. The Committee held a sitting on the 12th December, 2001.
- 3. The Committee considered applications for leave of absence from four members. The details of these applications and recommendations of the Committee are given in the Appendix.

New Delhi;

December 12, 2001

Agrahayana 21, 1923 (Saka)

RAM SAJIVAN,

Chairman,

Committee on Absence of Members from the sittings of the House.

APPENDIX

(vide para 3 of the Report)

SI. No.	Name of Member who has applied for leave of absence	Period for which leave applied	Reasons for leave	Period for which leave of absence recommended by the Committee	Remarks
1.	Shri S.B.P.B.K. Satyanarayana Rao	10.08.2001 to 31.08.2001= 22 days	Self- illness	10.08.2001 to 31.08.2001 = 22 days	
2.	Shri S.D.N.R. Wadiyar	19.11.2001 to 10.12.2001 = 22 days	Self- illness	19.11.2001 to 10.12.2001 = 22 days	
3.	Shri Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel	06.08.2001 to 31.08.2001 = 26 days and 19.11.2001 to 21.12.2001 = 33 days Total 59 days	Under judicial custody	06.08.2001 to 31.08.2001 = 26 days and 19.11.2001 to 21.12.2001 = 33 days *Total 59 days	
4.	Dr. Nitish Sengupta	05.12.2001 to 21.12.2001 = 17 days	Self- illness	05.12.2001 to 21.12.2001 = 17 days	

^{*}Member was earlier granted leave by the House On 23.8.2001 for 59 days from 19.02.2001 to 23.03.2001, 16.04.2001 to 27.04.2001 and 23.07.2001 to 05.08.2001 on the recommendations made by the Committee in its Seventh Report.