# COMMITTEE ON ABSENCE OF MEMBERS FROM THE SITTINGS OF THE HOUSE

### (Thirteenth Lok Sabha)

#### FIFTH REPORT

(Presented on 19.12.2000)

- I, the Chairman of the Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House, having been authorised by the Committee to present the Report on their behalf, present this fifth Report.
  - 2. The Committee held a sitting on the 13th December, 2000.
- The Committee considered applications for leave of absence from five members.
  The details of these applications and recommendations of the Committee are given in the Appendix.

RAM SAJIVAN CHAIRMAN COMMITTEE ON ABSENCE OF MEMBERS FROM THE SITTINGS OF THE HOUSE

New Delhi;

13th December, 2000

Agrahayana 22, 1922 (Saka)

## **APPENDIX**

# (Vide para 3 of the Report)

SI. No		Period for which leave applied.	Reasons for leave.	Period for which leave of absence recommended by the Committee.	Remarks.
1.	Shri Bikash Chowdhury	10.3.2000 to 16.3.2000 = 7 days 17.4.2000 to 17.5.2000 = 31 days and 24.7.2000 to 25.8.2000 = 33 days Total = 71 days	Self-Illness	*14.8.2000 to 25.8.2000 = 12 days	
2.	Smt. Nisha Chaudhary	20.11.2000 to 22.12.2000 = 33 days	Self Illness	20.11.2000 to 22.12.2000 = 33 days	,
3.	Smt. Jayashree Banerjee	20.11.2000 to 22.12.2000 = 33 days	Death of Husband	20.11.2000 to 22.12.2000 = 33 days	
4.	Prof. Kailasho Devi	20.11.2000 to 22.12.2000 = 33 days	Self Illness	20.11.2000 to 22.12.2000 = 33 days	
5.	Shri Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel	24.7.2000 to 25.8.2000 = 33 days	Under judicial custody	24.7.2000 to 25.8.2000 = 33 days	·

<sup>\*</sup> Leave applied for by the member extended beyond 59 days. However, leave for 59 days (10.3.2000 to 16.3.2000, 17.4.2000 to 17.5.2000 and 24.7.2000 to 13.8.2000) was granted to Shri Bikash Chowdhury on 22 August, 2000 (vide Fourth Report) as the Committee do not recommend leave for more than 59 days at a time. Leave for the remaining period of the last session may now be granted.