LOK SABHA DEBATES

Tuesday, December 19, 1989/Agrahayana 28, 1911 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock

[The Speaker pro tem (Prof. N.G. Ranga) in the Chair]

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Secretary-General may call out the names of the Member who a a to take Oath or make Affirmation.

MEMBERS SWORN

Shri Mufti Mohammed Sayeed (Muzaffarnagar)

Shri Janardan Tiwari (Siwan)

Shri Hari Kishore Singh (Sheohar)

Shri M.V. Chandrashekara Murthy (Kanakapura)

Prof P.J. Kurien (Mavelikara)

Shri Mohanlal (Mandla)

Shri Kamalnath (Chhindwara)

Shri Damodar Barku Shingada (Dahanu)

Shri Thorat Sandipan Bhagwan (Pandharpur)

Shri Gadak Yeshawantrao Kenkarrao (Ahmednagar)

Shri Giridhar Gomango (Koraput)

Shri Kamal Chaudhary (Hoshiarpur)

Shri Girdhari Lal Bhargava (Jaipur)

Shri Jaswant Singh (Jodhpur)

Shri Nandu Thapa (Sikhim)

Shri Brahmadutt (Tehri Garhwal)

Shri S.P. Yadav (Sambhal)

Shri Satya Pal Singh (Shahjahanpur)

Shri Ram Singh (Sultanpur)

Shri Ram Avadh (Akbarpur)

Shri Mitra Sen Yadav (Faizabad)

Shri Fasiurrahman alias Munnan Khan (Balrampur)

Shri Avedya Nath (Gorakhpur)

Shri Harsh Vardhan (Maharajganj)

Shri Harikewal (Salempur)

Shri Chandra Shekhar (Ballia)

Shri Anil Shastri (Varanasi)

Shri Yusuf Beg (Mirzapur)

Shri Ram Sajiwan (Banda)

Shri Ganga Charan (Hamirpur)

Shri Rajendra Agnihotri (Jhansi)

Shri Ram Sewak Bhatia (Jalaun)

Shrimati Subhasini Ali (Kanpur)

3

Shri Santosh Bharitiya (Farrukhabad)

Ch. Multan Singh (Jalesar)

Shri Ramji Lal Suman (Firosabad)

Shri Ajay Singh (Agra)

Shri Satya Pal Malik (Aligarh)

Shri Bhagwan Dass (Khurja)

Shri Kishan Chand Tyagi (Hapur)

Shri Harish Pal (Meerut)

Shri Har Pal (Kairana)

Shri Inderjeet (Darjeeling)

Shri Palas Barman (Balarghat)

Shri Abdul Barkat Ataul Ghani Khan Chaudhury (Malda)

Shri Manoranjan Sur (Basirhat)

Shrimati Gita Mukherjee (Panskura)

Shri Salagala Benjamin (Bapatla)

Shri Ganendra Reddy (Chittoor)

Shri Y.S. Raja Sekhar Reddy (Cuddapah)

Shri Simon Marandi (Rajmahal)

Shri Shailendra Mahatao (Jamshedpur)

Shri C.K. Jaffer Sharief (Bangalore North)

Shri Purohit Banwarilal Bhagwandas (Nagpur)

Shri P. Chidambaram (Sivaganga)

Shri Har Govind (Amroha)

MR. SPEAKER: Is there any other Member who wants to take the oath?... There being none, now we take up the Motion for the election of the Speaker.

12.10 hrs.

ELECTION OF SPEAKER

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Devi Lal may now move the motion standing in his name.

[Translation]

THE DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI DEVI LAL): Mr. Speaker, Sir, with your permission, I beg to move:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a Member of this House, be chosen as the speaker of this House".

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Manubhai Kotadia may second the motion.

[Translation]

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF WATER RESOURCES (SHRI MANUBHAI KOTADIA): Sir, I second the motion moved by Shri Devi Lal.

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Sharad Yadav may now move the motion standing in his name.

[Translation]

THE MINISTER OF TEXTILES AND MINISTER OF FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES (SHRI SHARAD YADAV): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a Member of this House, be chosen as the speaker of this House".

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri George Fernandes may second the motion.