No. 1

1

Vol. I

LOK SABHA

Tuesday, January 15, 1985/Pausa 25, 1906 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock

[THE SPEAKER pro tem (SHRI JAGJI-VAN RAM) in the Chair]

OBSERVANCE OF SILENCE

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: We meet today on a solemn occasion. A new Lok Sabha has been elected under the Constitution charged with great and heavy responsibilities for the welfare of the country and our people.

It is fit and proper that, as is customary on such an occasion, we all stand in silence for a short while before we begin our proceedings.

The Members then stood in silence for a short while.

11.03 hrs.

LIST OF MEMBERS ELECTED TO LOK SABHA

Laid on the Table

[English]

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I lay on the Table a Book presented to the Speaker by the Chief Election Commissioner, containing the List of Members elected to the Lok Sabha at the general election of 1984. 11.04 hrs.

PANEL OF CHAIRMEN

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: I have to inform the House that under Rule 9 of the Rules of Procedure, I have nominated the following Members as members of the Panel of Chairmen:

- (1) Shri R. Jagannath Rao
- (2) Shri G.G. Swell, and
- (3) Shri Nissankara Rao Venkataratnam

11.05 hrs.

MEMBERS SWORN

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: The names of Members will now be called by the Secretary-General for the purpose of making and subscribing oath or affirmation. The Prime Minister will be called first. Then the Ministers and the Parliamentary Secretaries will be called. After that, the names of Members of the Panel of Chairmen will be called. Thereafter the names of other Members will be called State-wise. The names of Members who are not able to take the oath or make the affirmation at the first call will be called again at the end. If the name of any Member is not pronounced correctly, he may kindly excuse.

Shri Rajiv Gandhi (Amethi)

Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao (Ramtek)

Shri S.B. Chavan (Nanded)

Shri Abdul Gafoor (Siwan)

2