tween India and China will be continued by my Government. It is hoped that the boundary question can be resolved in a fair, reasonable manner in consonance with our national interests.

- 33. My Government will further strengthen the traditional friendship with the Soviet Union; build upon the new trends of a constructive and cooperative relationship with the United States; and strengthen economic cooperation with Japan and the European Community.
- My Government recognises the 34. inalienable rights of the Palestinian people to achieve a homeland of their own in a peaceful West Asia. The Government's support and solidarity to this end will always be there. It will also be my Government's endeavour to maintain pressure on the Pretoria regime to commence early negotiations for the dismantlement of Apartheid. The emergence of a united democratic and non-racial South Africa is our objective.
- 35. Honourable Members, the present session is a short one. Yet it is historic in its importance and is summoned immediately following the constitution of the Ninth Lok Sabha in order to place before Parliament the new agenda of work.
- I wish you all success in your endeavours.

JAI HIND

12.23 1/2 hrs.

INTRODUCTION OF MINISTERS

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: The Prime Minister.

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI VISH-WANATH PRATAP SINGH): Sir, may I have the permission to introduce the Council of Ministers?

Chaudhari Devi Lal Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture

(Interruptions)

SHRI HARISH RAWAT (Almora): Sir, I am on a point of order. (Interruptions)

SHRI JAGPAL SINGH (Hardwar): I am also on a point of order....

[Translation]

MR. SPEAKER: What is the point of order?

SHRI JAGPAL SINGH: Mr. Speaker, Sir, under article 75 of our Constitution, the Deputy Prime Minister... (Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: Please take your seat. In this connection I would like to submit that this matter is already there in a court of law. I would, request the Hon. Prime Minister to proceed further.

SHRI JAGPAL SINGH: Mr. Speaker, Sir, I am on a point of order.

MR. SPEAKER: There is no point of order.

(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: Mr. Rawat, you know the rules of procedure, please take your seat.

SHRIHARISH RAWAT (Almora): There is no provision for Deputy Prime Minister in the Constitution. (*Interruptions*)

[English]

I am also on a point of order.

MR. SPEAKER: No point of order.

(Interruptions)

[Translation]

SHRI JAGPAL SINGH: Sir, My point of order in no may infringers the judicial powers of the court. My point is that there is no provision for the office of the Deputy Prime Minister in the Constitution Article 74 provides that...

[English]

"There shall be a council of Ministers to advise the President of India."

[Translation]

MR. SPEAKER: I have taken note of your point. Please sit down.

SHRI JAGPAL SINGH: My point is that

[English]

Our Hon. Prime Minister cannot introduce Chaudhari Devi Lalji as the Deputy Prime Minister.

[Translation]

My second point is that Ch. Devi Lal has not

taken oath of office even as a Minister. As such Ch. Devi Lal is only an hon. Member of this House. My third point is that whatever amount has been spent by the Government of India on his security as the Deputy Prime Minister, should not be borne by the Government but by him personally.

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: I am on my legs.

[Translation]

I would like to tell all of you that Mr. Devi Lal is an elected Member of this House. Even earlier Sardar Patel held the office of Deputy Prime Minister. Mr. Jagjivan Ram also remained Deputy Prime Minister in the cabinet of Shri Shri Moraji Bhai. Therefore there is no point of order. Once again I would request the Hon. Prime Minister to proceed further.

(Interruptions)

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Now, the Prime Minister may resume the introduction of Ministers.

SHRI VISHWANATH PRATAP SINGH:

Prof. Madhu Dandavate	Minister of Finance
Shri George Fernandes	Minister of Railways
Shri Ajit Singh	Minister of Industry
Shri Sharad Yadav	Minister of Textiles with additional charge of the Ministry of Food Processing Industries
Shri Mufti Mohammad Sayeed	Minister of Home Affairs
Shri Arif Mohammad Khan	Minister of Energy with additional charge of Ministry of Civil Aviation
Shri Nilamani Routray	Minister of Health and Family Welfare
Shri I.K. Gujral	Minister of External Affairs
Shri Nathu Ram Mirdha	Minister of Food and Civil Supplies

15	Obituary References	DECEMBE	ER 20, 1989	Obituary References	16
Shri	P. Upendra		Minister of Informat Parliamentary Affai	tion and Broadcasting a irs	Ind
Shri	K.P. Unnikrishnan			Transport with addition	nal
Shri	Dinesh Goswami			and Mines with addition try of Law and Justice	nai
Shri	Murasoli Maran		Minister of Urban D	Development	
Minister of State holding independent charge					
Shri	Manubhai Kotadia		Minister of State (In Ministry of Water R	ndependent Charge) of t lesources	the
Ministers of State					
Shri	mati Maneka Gandhi		Minister of State in t and Forests	the Ministry of Environme	ent
Prof	. M.G.K. Menon		Minister of State fo	r Science and Technolo) gy

(Interruptions)

12.32 hrs.

OBITUARY REFERENCES

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members...

(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: I am moving a condolence resolution.

(Interruptions)

MR.SPEAKER: Please take your seats. I am on my legs.

(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members: I have to inform the House of the sad demise of six of our former colleagues, viz. Sarvashri Subodh Sen, Shiva Chandra Jha, Lok Nath Mishra, Gokul Saikia, Chandra Pratap Narain Singh and Shrimati Savitri Shyam.

Shri Subodh Sen was a member of the Seventh Lok Sabha during 1980-84 from Jalpaiguri constituency of West Bengal. Earlier, he had been a member of the West Bengal Legislative Council during 1962-68.

A devoted political worker he worked untiringly for the upliftment of the working class.

An able parliamentarian, he took keen interest in the proceedings of the House.

Shri Sen passed away at Jalpaiguri on 7 October 1989 at the age of 72.

Shri Shiva Chandra Jha was a member of the Fourth Lok Sabha during 1967-70 representing Madhubani constituency of Bihar. Later on, he was elected to Rajya Sabha in April 1978 and continued to be its member till 1984.

A well known political workers, he par-