GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ROAD TRANSPORT AND HIGHWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 740 ANSWERED ON 7TH FEBRUARY, 2019

MULTI-MODAL LOGISTICS PARKS

740. Shri DUSHYANT CHAUTALA

Will the Minister of ROAD TRANSPORT AND HIGHWAYS

सड़क परिवहन और राजमार्ग मंत्री

be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Govt. is planning a network of 35 multi- modal logistics parks with the aim to improve the country's logistics sector by lowering overall freight costs, reducing vehicular pollution and congestion and cutting warehousing costs;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and whether the Government has also identified the locations for the purpose; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and expected funds required for this purpose

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ROAD TRANSPORT AND HIGHWAYS

(SHRI MANSUKH L. MANDAVIYA)

(a) Yes, Madam. CCEA, in October 2017, has accorded in-principle approval for the development of 35 multimodal logistics parks as a part of the National Corridor Efficiency Enhancement Programme (NCEEP) under Bharatmala Pariyojana to improve efficiency of the road freight movement in the country. Logistics Parks will enable optimum and efficient vehicular movement in the country and thus lead to reduction in vehicular pollution and congestion. Further, shifting warehouses, currently being operated inside city limits, to logistics parks will enable reduction in warehousing cost. In addition, modern and mechanized storage solutions provided by logistics parks will enable reduction in storage and handling costs.

(b) A network of 35 multimodal logistics parks has been identified and list of same as per Bharatmala SOP dated 21.12.2017 is placed at **Annexure-I**.

(c) Development of 35 multimodal logistics parks is part of Bharatmala Pariyojana and expected funds required for development of Multi-modal Logistics Park is to be meet out from estimated outlay of Rs. 5,35,000 crore for Bharatmala Pariyojana as approved by CCEA.

Annexure I:

List of Multimodal Logistics Parks

S No	Location
1	Delhi – NCR (Delhi, Gurgaon, Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Noida)
2	Mumbai (Mumbai, Mumbai Suburbs, JNPT, Mumbai Port, Raigad District)
3	North Gujarat (Ahmedabad and Vadodara)
4	Hyderabad
5	South Gujarat (Surat and Bharuch)
6	South Punjab (Ludhiana, Sangrur, Patiala)
7	North Punjab (Amritsar, Jalandhar, Gurudaspur)
8	Jaipur
9	Bangalore
10	Pune
11	Vijayawada
12	Chennai
13	Nagpur
14	Indore
15	Patna
16	Kolkata
17	Ambala
18	Valsad
19	Coimbatore
20	Jagatsinghpur
21	Nasik
22	Guwahati
23	Kota

S No	Location
24	Panaji
25	Hisar
26	Visakhapatnam
27	Bhopal
28	Sundargarh
29	Bhatinda
30	Solan
31	Rajkot
32	Raipur
33	Jammu
34	Kandla
35	Cochin
