Ninth Lok Sabha IV Session (07/11/1990)

LOK SABHA

BULLETIN — PART I [Brief Record of Proceedings]

Wednesday, November 7, 1990 / Kartika 16, 1912 (Saka)

No. 87

11 A.M.

1. Obituary References

The Speaker made references to the passing away of Shri V.S. Ilanchezhiyan, a member of Sixth Lok Sabha; Shri Kamalapati Tripathi, a member of Constituent Assembly and Seventh Lok Sabha; Shri Sasankasekhar Sanyal, a member of Sixth Lok Sabha; Capt. Williamson A. Sangma, a member of Eighth Lok Sabha and Smt. Nirlep Kaur, a member of Fourth Lok Sabha.

Thereafter, members stood in silence for a short while as a mark of respect to the deceased.

2. Papers Laid on the Table

The following papers were laid on the Table:-

- (1) (i) A copy of the Proclamation (Hindi and English versions) dated the 10th October, 1990 issued by the President under article 356 of the Constitution in relation to the State of Karnataka published in Notification No. G.S.R. 833(E) in Gazette of India dated the 10th October, 1990 together with a Corrigendum thereto published in Notification No. G.S.R. 878(E) dated the 1st November, 1990, under article 356(3) of the Constitution.
 - (ii) A copy of the Order (Hindi and English versions) dated

the 10th October, 1990 made by the President in pursuance of sub-clause (i) of clause (c) of the above Proclamation published in Notification No. G.S.R. 834(E) in Gazette of India dated the 10th October, 1990.

- (2) A copy of the Report dated the 10th October, 1990 of the Governor of Karnataka to the President (Hindi and English versions).
- (3) A copy of the Proclamation (Hindi and English versions) dated the 17th October, 1990 issued by the President under clause (2) of article 356 of the Constitution revoking the Proclamation issued by him on 10th October, 1990 in relation to the State of Karnataka, published in Notification No. G.S.R. 849(E) in Gazette of India dated the 17th October, 1990, under article 356(3) of the Constitution.
- (4) A copy each of the following Ordinances (Hindi and English versions) under article 123(2)(a) of the Constitution:—
 - (i) The Finance (Amendment) Ordinance, 1990 (No. 6 of 1990) promulgated by the President on the 15th October, 1990.
 - (ii) The Reserve Bank of India (Amendment) Ordinance, 1990 (No. 7 of 1990) promulgated by the President on the 15th October, 1990.
 - (iii) The Finance (Second Amendment) Ordinance, 1990 (No. 8 of 1990) promulgated by the President on the 15th October, 1990.
 - (iv) The Ram Janma Bhumi-Babri Masjid (Acquisition of Area) Ordinance, 1990 (No. 9 of 1990) promulgated by the President on the 19th October, 1990 together with a Corrigenda thereto.
 - (v) The Ram Janma Bhumi-Babri Masjid (Acquisition of Area) Withdrawal Ordinance, 1990 (No. 10 of 1990) promulgated by the President on the 23rd October, 1990.
- (5) A copy of the Order (Hindi and English versions) dated the 15th October, 1990, made by the President under article

123(2)(b) of the Constitution withdrawing the Finance (Amendment) Ordinance, 1990 (No. 6 of 1990).

- (6) The following statements (Hindi and English versions) showing action taken by the Government on various assurances, promises and undertakings given by the Ministers during various sessions of Lok Sabha:—
 - (i) Statement No. XXVII Sixth Session, 1986
 - (ii) Statement No. XXV Seventh Session, 1986
 - (iii) Statement No. XXV Eighth Session, 1987
 - (iv) Statement No. XXII II part of Eighth Session. 1987
 - (v) Statement No. XXI Ninth Session, 1987

Eighth Lok Sabha

- (vi) Statement No. XIX Tenth Session, 1988
- (vii) Statement No. XV Eleventh Session, 1988
- (viii) Statement No. XII Twelfth Session, 1988
 - (ix) Statement No. XI Thirteenth Session, 1989
 - (x) Statement No. VIII Fourteenth Session, 1989
 - (i) Statement No. VI First Session, 1989
 - (ii) Statement No. V Second Session, 1990

- Third Session, 1990

Minth Lok Sabha

(7) A statement (Hindi and English versions) correcting the reply given on the 4th September, 1990 to Unstarred Question No. 4284 by Shri Tej Narayan Singh, M.P. regarding Halt at Bihiya of Howrah Express.

3. Motion - Negatived

(iii) Statement No. I

ď

Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh moved the following motion:—

"That this House expresses its confidence in the Council of Ministers."

The following members took part in the debate:—

- (1) Shri Chandra Shekhar
- (2) Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra

- (3) Shri Somnath Chatterjee
- (4) Shri Devi Lal
- (5) Shri Indrajit Gupta
- (6) Prof. Madhu Dandavate
- (7) Shri R. Muthaiah
- (8) Kum. Umabharti
- (9) Shri Sharad Yadav
- (10) Shri Rajiv Gandhi
- (11) Shri L.K. Advani
- (12) Shri George Fernandes
- (13) Shri Nani Bhattacharya
- (14) Shri Chitta Basu
- (15) Prof. Saif-ud-Din Soz
- (16) Kumari Mayawati
- (17) Shri Arif Mohd. Khan
- (18) Shri Ebrahim Sulaiman Sait
- (19) Shri Vamanrao Mahadik
- (20) Shri Chand Ram
- (21) Shri A. K. Roy
- (22) Shri Ram Dhan

Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh replied to the debate. On the motion the House divided: Ayes *142; Noes *346. Accordingly the motion was negatived.

4. Observation by Speaker

The Speaker referring to the problems faced by the country observed that the House would join him in appealing to all sections of the people to maintain peace and harmony and promote mutual trust and to continue their struggle unitedly with a firm resolve to bring about a total revolution for a bright and prosperous India.

(Lok Sabha adjourned sine die at 10.25 p.m.)

K. C. RASTOGI, Secretary-General.

^{*}Subject to correction.