to Questions

1377. SHRI ASHOK PRADHAN: Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether studio facilities have been provided in all the Doordarshan Centres set up in Uttar Pradesh, particularly in Adivasi area;
 - (b) if so, the details thereof, location-wise;
- (c) the details of the Doordarshan Centres where such facilities have not been provided so far, locationwise; and
- (d) the time by which these facilities are likely to be provided there?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR NAQVI): (a) to (c) Whereas 106 TV transmitters (HPTs-9, LPTs-68, VLPTs-26, transposers-3) including one LPT at Lakhimpur (in notified Advisai district Kheri), are presently functioning in Uttar Pradesh. Studio facilities are available only at Lucknow, Bareilly, Gorakhpur, Mau, Allahabad & Varanasi. Locationwise details of 106 transmitters are given in the statement attached.

(d) Scheme for establishment of a Studio set-up at Mathura is presently under implementation. There is no approved scheme at present, for providing studio facilities at any other Kendra in U.P.

Statement

Existing TV Network in Uttar Pradesh (As on 15.2.1999)

Studio Centres

Lucknow

Bareilly

Gorakhpur

Mau

Allahabad

Varanasi

High Power Transmitters

Agra

Allahabad

Barellly

Gorakhpur

Kanpur

Lucknow

Mau

Mussoorie

Varanasi

Low Power Transmitters

Alcharpur

Aligarh

Amroha

Athdama

Auralya

Bahraich

Ballia

Balramour

Banda

Besti

Chempavat

Chhibramau

Deoria

Etah

Etewah

Faizabad

Farrukhabad Naugarh

Fatehpur New Tehri

Ganj Dundwara Obra

Gauriganj Orai

Gonda Pauri

Haldwani Pilibhit

Hardoi Pithoragarh

Haridwar Puranpur

Jagdishpur Rae Barelli

Jhansi Rampur

Kasganj Rasra

Kashipur Rath

Kotdwar Rudauli

Lakhimpur Sambal

Lalganj (Pratapgarh) Shahjahanpur

Lalganj (Rae Barelli) Sikendarpur

*Lalitpur Sitapur

Mahoba Sultanpur

Mahroni Tanakpur

Mainpuri Tirwa

Mathura Azamgarh (DDII)

Mauranipur Kanpur (DDII)

Muradabad Lucknow (DDII)

Muhammadabad Mau (DDII)

Naini Danda Rampur (DDII)

Nainital Very Low Power Transmitters

Nanpara Almora

Bageshwar Basot Rhatiari Chaukhatia Devprayag Dharchula Didihat Gaija Ghandyal Gopeshwar Joshimath Kaljikhal Karn Prayag Kausani Manikour

Utterkashi

Transposers

Churk

Mussorie

Srinagar

Study Opportunities in A.M.S.

1378. SHRI MADHAVRAO SCINDIA: Will the Minister of DEFENCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Post-Graduate study opportunities in service institutions under Army Medical Science (AMS) are squandered by way of offering them to non-service medial graduates, even when AMS personnel fully eligible for such post-graduate studies are available within the service:
- (b) If so, the details of such cases recorded during 1995-96, 1996-97, 1997-98 and 1998-99; and
 - (c) the justification attributed thereto?

THE MINISTER OF DEFENCE (SHRI GEORGE FERNANDES): (a) to (c) Post Graduate study opportunities in the Army Medical Corps (AMC) are available at Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, Research & Referral Hospital, Delhi Cantt, Command Hospital (Air Force), Bangalore and INHS Asvini, Mumbai. All Post graduate seats in the Service Institutions are allotted strictly on the basis of merit-cum-choice following a Central PG entrance examination. Service officers who, on study leave, join Armed Forces Medical College, Pune. for super specialisation, however, do not have to go through a written test for admission. Army Medical Corps personnel have prior claim on the PG seats, depending upon the Service requirements. However, PG seats which are not availed of by the Service personnel are offered to other categories like Foreign sponsored candidates, ex-SSC officers and lastly, if any seats remain, they are offered to Civilian Doctors. Thus, the opportunities for the Post Graduate studies available to the Army Medical Corps personnel are not squandered.

Details of year-wise allotment of sests which were not required by the Army Medical Corps and given to non-Service personnel are given in the attached statement.

Thakurdwara

Mankapur

Musiari

Rajgari

Ranikhet

Saahiya

Nandprayag

Pratap Nagar

Tharali