Youth Hostels in the Country

2816. SHRI R. SAMBASIVA RAO:

SHRI D.S. AHIRE:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to State:

- (a) the number of youth hostels at present operational in the country, State-wise;
- (b) whether the Union Government have cleared the proposals of Andhra Pradesh Government for setting up of three youth hostels in the State;
- (c) if so, the places where these hostels would be set up; and
- (d) whether Centre have also released Rs. 30 lakh assistance for the youth hostel at Visakhapatnam?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (KUMARI UMA BHARATI):
(a) At present, 53 Youth Hostels have been completed and taken over by the State Governments. The State-wise details is given in the enclosed statement. Of these, except Padam Mapusa (Goa), Jabalpur (M.P.) and Vijayawada (A.P.) which have been completed recently, all others are operational.

- (b) and (c) Central Government have so far cleared the proposals for setting up of Youth Hostels in six places in the State of Andhra Pradesh, viz. Secunderabad, Tirupati, Vijayawada, Visakhapatnam, Warangal, Nagarjunasagar. Of these, two Hostels at Secunderabad and Tirupati are operational. Youth Hostel at Vijayawada has recently been completed and taken over by the State Government. The remaining three Youth Hostels are at various stages of construction.
- (d) Rs. 39,86,034/- have so far been released for Youth Hostel. Visakhapatnam.

Statement

S.No.	Name of State/ UT	No. of Youth Hostels completed and taken over by State Govts
1	2	3
01.	Andhra Pradesh	3
02.	Arunachal Pradesh	1
03.	Assam	3
04.	Bihar	1
05 .	Gujarat	1
06 .	Haryana	3
07.	Himachal Pradesh	2
08.	Jammu & Kashmir	1

1	2	3
09.	Kamataka	3
10.	Kerala	3
11.	Maharashtra	1
12.	Manipur	2
13.	Meghalaya	2
14.	Madhya Pradesh	2
15.	Nagaland	1
16.	Mizoram	1
17.	Punjab	3
18.	Rajasthan	2
19.	Tamil Nadu	4
20.	Uttar Pradesh	3
21.	A. & N. Island	1
22.	West Bengal	1
23.	Pondicherry	1
24.	Tripura	1
25.	Orissa	4
26.	Goa	2
27 .	Sikkim	1
	Total	53

CLB Decision in Respect of Non-Payment of Deposits

2817. SHRI K.P. NAIDU: Will the Minister of LAW, JUSTICE AND COMPANY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Company Law Board (CLB) Bench, Eastern Region Branch, Calcutta has taken any decision on February 16, 1998 in respect of non-payment of interest and principal amount taken as fixed deposit by M/s Helios Corporation Ltd., Patna;
 - (b) If so, the details thereof; and
 - (c) if not, the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF LAW, JUSTICE AND COMPANY AFFAIRS AND MINISTER OF SURFACE TRANSPORT: (Dr. M. T IAMBI DURAI): (a) to (c) The Company Law Board (CLB) Eastern Region Branch, Calcutta had issued a notice to M/s Helios Corporation Ltd., Patna to appear before it on 16.2.98 in connection with allegation of non-payment of interest and principal amount taken as deposit. However no one from the company appeared before it. The Board is now contemplating issuing notice to all the directors and the company for their reply to allegation of non-payment of deposit after ascertaining names and addresses of all the directors from Registrar of companies. Patna.

Simultaneously, the Reserve Bank of India, Department of Supervision (Financial Companies) Calcutta has also been kept informed.

Setting up of Super Thermal Power Plant in Bihar

2818. SHRI SUSHIL KUMAR SINGH: Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government have considered the setting up of a super thermal power plant at Nabinagar in Bihar:
- (b) if so, the progress made so far in conducting the feasibility studies and preparing the project report; and
- (c) the steps the Government propose to take for early completion of the project?

THE MINISTER OF POWER (SHRI P.R. KUMARAMANGALAM): (a) Yes, Sir.

- (b) National Thermal Power Corporation Limited has initiated action for preparation of the feasibility report for Nabinagar mega power project and the tender for EIA studies package has been awarded. Tenders for other packages namely geo-technical investigation and topographical survey are in advanced stages for finalisation of award.
- (c) Power Grid Corporation of India had issued the notice inviting tender for this project on 18th August, 1997 and due to inadequate response, the last date of sale for tender document was extended to 31st December, 1997. As the response continued to be poor even after the extension, it was decided not to pursue this tender.

[Translation]

91

Amount for Gujarat from Central Road Fund

2819. SHRI MAHESH KANODIA: Will the Minister of SURFACE TRANSPORT be pleased to state:

- (a) the amount allocated for Gujarat out of the Central Road Fund during the last three years; and
- (b) the details of the works carried out by Gujarat in this regard?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SURFACE TRANSPORT (DR. DEBENDRA PRADHAN): (a) The amount allocated to Gujarat from Central Road Fund is as follows:

S.No.	Year	Amount allocated (Rs. in lakhs)
1.	1995-96	139.00
2.	1996-97	114.00
3.	1997-98	116.00

(b) During the last three years a total number of 4 works at an estimated cost of Rs. 340 lakhs and C.R.F. share of Rs. 329.70 lakhs have been sanctioned to the State of

Gujarat. The responsibility of execution of various works sanctioned under C.R.F. lies with the concerned State Goves

Speed Post Facility

2820. SHRI SURENDRA PRASAD YADAV (JAHANA-BAD): Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state the names of cities/towns where Speed Post facility is available in the country?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI KABINDRA PURKAYASTHA): The names of the cities/towns where Speed Post facility is available in the country are mentioned in the list enclosed as Statement-I On National Network and Statement-II Point to Point Service.

Statement-I

Speed Post Service available National Network

- I. Agartala
- 2. Agra
- 3. Aimer
- 4. Ahmedabad
- Allahabad
- 6. Acommissionemritsar
- 7. Aluva (Alwaye)
- 8. Bangalore
- 9. Bhopal
- 10. Bhubaneswar
- 11. Calcutta
- 12. Calicut
- 13. Chandigarh
- 14. Coimbatore
- 15. Cuttack
- 16. Dehradun
- 17. Delhi
- 18. Dhanbad
- 19. Faridabad
- 20. Gangtok
- 21. Gandhinagar
- 22. Gorakhpur
- 23. Gurgaon
- 24. Guwahati