Sixteenth Loksabha

an>

Title: Announcement regarding the appointment of Parliamentary Pay Committee.

*m01

HON. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, I have to make an announcement about my own Secretariat today.

The Seventh Pay Commission has not made any recommendations in regard to the Secretariats of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha in view of the provisions of article 98 of the Constitution.

The Chairman, Rajya Sabha and I after mutual consultation and following the procedure in the past have decided to appoint a Committee of Parliament consisting of the following Members:

(1) Chairperson, Estimates Committee

(Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi)

(2) Chairperson, Public Accounts Committee

(Shri Mallikarjun Kharge)

(3) Chairperson, Standing Committee on Finance

(Dr. M. Veerappa Moily)

(4) Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

(Shri Ananth Kumar)

(5) Minister of Finance

(Shri Arun Jaitley)

(6) Member, Rajya Sabha

(Prof. Ram Gopal Yadav)

... (Interruptions)

The Chairperson, Estimates Committee, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi will be the Chairperson of the Committee. The functions of the Committee shall be to advise the Chairman, Rajya Sabha and the Speaker, Lok Sabha on the changes that are considered desirable in the structure of scales of pay, allowances, leave, pensionary benefits and other amenities to the officers and all categories of employees of the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha Secretariats in the context of the decision of the Government of India on the recommendations of the 7th Central Pay Commission.

The Committee will make their recommendations to the Chairman, Rajya Sabha and Speaker, Lok Sabha as early as possible.

... (Interruptions)