Sixteenth Loksabha

an>

Title: Secretary General reported a message from Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha (i) at its sitting held on 9th March, 2018, adopted a motion to join the Committee of both the Houses on the Welfare of Schedule Castes and Scheduled Tribes for the term beginning on 1st May 2018 and ending on the 30th April 2019 and elected seven members to serve the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes and to fill up remaining 3 vacancies during the next session (ii) at its sitting held on 9th March 2018 to nominate six members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Undertakings of the Lok Sabha and to fill up the remaining one vacancy during the next session (iii) at its sitting held on 9th March 2018; to nominate seven members of Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Accounts and fill up the remaining two vacancies during the next session (iv) at its sitting held on 22nd March 2018, Rajya Sabha agreed without any amendment to the Payment of Gratuity (Amendment) Bill, 2018.

SECRETRY GENERAL: Madam Speaker, I have to report following messages received from the Secretary General of Rajya Sabha:-

(i) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 9th March, 2018 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes:-

"That this House resolves that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee of both the Houses on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes for the term beginning on the 1st May, 2018 and ending on the 30th April, 2019, and do proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, ten Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above Motion, the following seven Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
 - 1. Shri Shamsher Singh Dullo
 - Shri Ahamed Hassan
 - 3. Shri P.L. Punia
 - 4. Shri D. Raja
 - Shri Amar Shankar Sable
 - 6. Mahant Shambhuprasadji Tundiya
 - 7. Shri Ramkumar Verma
- 3. I am also to inform that in order to fill up the remaining three vacancies in the Committee, the election process will be initiated during the next Session of Rajya Sabha.'
- (ii) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 9th March, 2018 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on Public Undertakings:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Undertakings for the term beginning on the 1st May, 2018 and ending on the 30th April, 2019, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following six Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
 - Shri Pratap Keshari Deb
 - 2. Shri Naresh Gujral
 - Shri Mohd, Ali Khan
 - 4. Shri Shamsher Singh Manhas
 - 5. Shri Ram Vichar Netam
 - 6. Shri A.K. Selvaraj
- 3. I am also to inform that in order to fill up the remaining one vacancy in the Committee, the election process will be initiated during the next session of Rajya Sabha.'
- (iii) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 9th March, 2018 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on Public Accounts:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Accounts for the term beginning on the 1st May, 2018 and ending on the 30th April, 2019, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above Motion, the following five Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
 - 1. Prof. M.V. Rajeev Gowda

- 2. Shri Bhubaneswar Kalita
- 3. Shri Shwait Malik
- 4. Shri Narayan Lal Panchariya
- 5. Shri Sukhendu Sekhar Ray
- 3. I am also to inform that in order to fill up the remaining two vacancies in the Committee, the election process will be initiated during the next session of Rajya Sabha.'
- (iv) 'In accordance with the provisions of rule 127 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on the 22nd March, 2018 agreed without any amendment to the Payment of Gratuity (Amendment) Bill, 2018 which was passed by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 15th March, 2018.'