## Sixteenth Loksabha

an>

Title: Secretary-General reported the message from Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha concurred in the recommendations of the Lok Sabha to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha and ten Members from Lok Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Undertakings and the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, respectively.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Madam Speaker, I have to report following messages received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

(i) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 9th March, 2018 had adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on Public Undertakings:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Undertakings for the term beginning on the 1<sup>st</sup> May, 2018 and ending on the 30th April, 2019, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from amongst the members of the house to serve on the said Committee."

2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that as a result of the election process initiated pursuant to the above Motion, six Members of Rajya Sabha were duly elected to the said Committee and their names were communicated to the Lok Sabha through a Message dated 22nd March, 2018 from the Rajya Sabha. As intimated therein, the election process to fill up the remaining one vacancy having been completed during the current Session, Shri C.M. Ramesh, Member, Rajya Sabha has been duly elected to be a member of the Committee.'

(ii) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 9th March, 2018 had adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes:-

"That this House resolves that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee of both the Houses on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes for the term beginning on the 1st May, 2018 and ending on the 30th April, 2019, and do proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, ten Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that as a result of the election process initiated pursuant to the above Motion, seven Members of Rajya Sabha were duly elected to the said Committee and their names were communicated to the Lok Sabha through a Message dated 22nd March, 2018 from the Rajya Sabha. As intimated therein, the election process to fill up the remaining three vacancies having been completed during the current Session, the following three members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
- Shri Tiruchi Siva
- 2. Shri Veer Singh
- Shrimati Wansuk Syiem'