COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBERS' BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

FIRST TO SEVENTIETH REPORTS (ENGLISH VERSION)



Fourth Lok Sabha

Legislative Branch-II

COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBERS' BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

TWENTY-FIFTH REPORT

(FOURTH LOK SABHA)

I, the Chairman of the Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions, having, been authorised by the Committee, present on their behalf this their Twenty-fifth Report.

- 2. The Committee met on the 25th March, 1968, for-
 - (I) Classification and allocation of time for discussion of the following Bills:-
 - (1) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of article 16 and substitution of article 335) by Shri Ram Sewak Yadav.
 - (2) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of articles 75 and 164) by Shri Tridib Chaudhuri.
 - (3) The Commissions of Inquiry (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of section 3) by Shri Om Prakash Tyagi.
 - (11) Examination of the following Constitution (Amendment) Bills under Rule 294 (1) (a) of the Rules of Procedure:-
 - (1) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of article 217) by Shri M. Narayan Reddy.
 - (2) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of article 329) by Shri Shiva Chandra Jha.
 - *(3) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of articles 75 and 164) by Shri Madhu Limaye.

Classification and Allocation of time to Bills.

3. The Members concerned had been invited to present before the Committee their views on their Bills. Shri Tridib Chaudhuri attended the sitting.

4. After considering all aspects of the Bills, the Committee placed all the Bills in category 'B' and recommended allocation of time to them as indicated below:-

- The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of 11 hours. article 16 and substitution of article 335) by Shri Ram Sewak Yaday.
- (2) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of 14 hours. articles 75 and 164) by Shri Tridib Chaudhuri.
- (3) The Commissions of Inquiry (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amend- 1 hour. ment of section 3) by Shri Om Prakash Tyagi.

Examination of the Constitution (Amendment) Bills.

5. The Members who had given notices of the Bills had been invited to be present at the sitting. None of the members attended the sitting.

6. The Committee considered the Bills and arrived at the following findings as a result of their examination of the Bills:-

Findings of the Committee.

(1) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of article 217) by Shri M. Narayan Reddy.

The Bill sought to amend article 217 of the Constitution so as to provide that the Judge of a High Court shall be appointed exclusively on the recommendation of the Chief Justice of that High Court.

After considering all aspects of the matter, the Committee recommended that the Member might be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

(2) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of article 329) by Shri Shiva Chandra Jha.

The Bill sought to amend article 329 of the Constitution so as to provide that on the decision of one-lourth of the electors, the defecting legislators may be recalled by the electorate.

After considering all aspects of the matter, the Committee recommended that the Member might be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

(8) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 1968 (Amendment of articles 75 and 164) by Shri Madhu Limaye.

The Bill sought to amend articles 75 and 164 of the Constitution so as to provide that the Prime Minister and Chief Ministers shall always be elected members of the Lowe: Houses.

After considering all aspects of the matter, the Committee recommended that the Member might be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

Recommendations

- 7. The Committee recommend that-
 - (i) the categorisation and allocation of time to Bills, as shown in paragraph 4 above, be agreed to by the House; and
 - (ii) Sarvashri M. Narayan Reddy, Shiva Chandra Jha and Madhu Limaye be permitted to move for leave to introduce their Constitution (Amendment) Bills.

NEW DELHI; March 25, **1968**. Chaitra 5, 1890 (Saka). **R. K. KHADILKAR,** Chairman, Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions.