Title: The motion to elect the Speaker of Lok Sabha moved by Shri A.B. Vajpayee was adopted and is elected Shri Ganti Mohana Chandra Balayogi, a member of the House be chosen as Speaker of the House. 16.03 hrs

*m01

MR. SPEAKER: Now we proceed to the next item of the business which is Election of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

We have received a number of motions. We have received notices of 18 motions. Are all these motions being moved? We take it that the movers of these motions are willing to move these motions. If anybody does not want to move his motion, he can say so.

SHRI CHENNAMANENI VIDYASAGAR RAO (KARIMNAGAR): Sir, I withdraw my notice of motion which is listed at item no. 15 of today's List of Business. I am not moving my motion.

MR. SPEAKER: All right. Shri Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao, in whose name notion no. 15 stands, has indicated that he is not moving that motion.

SHRIMATI KAILASHO DEVI (KURUKSHETRA): Sir, I am also not moving my motion which is shown at item no. 14 of today's List of Business.

MR. SPEAKER: That is all right. There are so many identical motions.

So, I am now calling upon Shri Sharad Pawar to move the motion standing in his name.

SHRI SHARAD PAWAR (BARAMATI): I beg to move:

"That Shri Purno Agitok Sangma, a member of this House be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI P. SHIV SHANKER (TENALI)

श्री पी.शिव शंकर (तेनाली): मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That Shri Purno Agitok Sangma, a member of this House be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

The motion was negatived.

MR. SPEAKER: The motions which are listed at serial number 2 to 14, 16 and 18 are identical. Therefore, since the motion at serial number 2 has been negatived, the motions listed at serial number 3 to 14, 16 and 18 are not being put to the vote of the House. The motion at serial number 15 is not being moved. That means we are left with the motion at serial number 17 only which is standing in the name of Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee. So, I am now calling upon Shri Vajpayee to move his motion.

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI ATAL BIHARI VAJPAYEE): I beg to move:

"That Shri Ganti Mohana Chandra Balayogi, a member of this House be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI L.K. ADVANI (GANDHI NAGAR)

गृह मंत्री (श्री लालकृष्ण अडवाणी): मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That Shri Ganti Mohana Chandra Balayogi, a member of this House be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

The motion was adopted.

MR. SPEAKER: The Motion is carried and Shri Ganti Mohana Chandra Balayogi is declared elected as the Speaker of this House. I invite him to occupy the Chair.

Shri Ganti Mohana Chandra Balayogi was conducted to the Chair by the

Leader of the House, Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee and the

Leader of the Opposition, Shri Sharad Pawar.
