Title: Moved the motion for election of Deputy Speaker and Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of Lok Sabha chosen as the Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha. Motion for Consideration - adopted.

1206 hours

MR. SPEAKER: Item no. 14 can be taken up after the election of Deputy-Speaker, with the consent of the House.

Now, we take up the motions for election of Deputy-Speaker. I call upon the Prime Minister, Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee to move the motion.

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI ATAL BIHARI VAJPAYEE): Mr. Speaker, Sir, with your permission, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

SHRI SHARAD PAWAR (BARAMATI): Sir, I second the motion.

SHRI SUSHIL KUMAR SHINDE (SOLAPUR): I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Paras Ram Bhardwaj -- not present.

श्री अजीत जोगी (रायगढ़): महोदय, में प्रस्ताव करता हूं :-

'कि श्री पी.एम. सईद, जो इस सभा के सदस्य हैं, को इस सभा के उपाध्यक्ष के रूप में चुना जाए।'

SHRI MANORANJAN BHAKTA (ANDAMAN AND NICOBAR ISLANDS): I second the motion.

SHRI PURNO A. SANGMA (TURA): I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

SHRI KONIJETI ROSAIAH (NARASARAOPET): I second the motion.

SHRI MUFTI MOHAMMED SAYEED (ANANTNAG): I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

SHRI MOTILAL VORA (RAJNANDGAON): I second the motion.

SHRI BHUBANESWAR KALITA (GUWAHATI): I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

SHRI NADENDLA BHASKARA RAO (KHAMMAM): I second the motion.

PROF. P.J. KURIEN (MAVELIKARA): I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Murli Deora -- not present.

SHRI MOHAMMAD ALI ASHRAF FATMI (DARBHANGA): I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

MR. SPEAKER: Dr. Shafiqur Rahman Barq -- not present.

SHRI G.M. BANATWALLA (PONNANI): I beg to move: "That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy-Speaker of this House."

MR. SPEAKER: Shri P.C. Thomas -- not present.

PROF. SAIFUDDIN SOZ (BARAMULLA): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

PROF. A.K. PREMAJAM (BADAGARA): Sir, I second the motion.

SHRI K. YERRANNAIDU (SRIKAKULAM): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRI K. VIJAYABHASKARA REDDY (KURNOOL): Sir, I second the motion.

SHRIMATI KRISHNA BOSE (JADAVPUR): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRI BASU DEB ACHARIA (BANKURA): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRIMATI GEETA MUKHERJEE (PANSKURA): Sir, I second the motion.

DR. BALRAM JAKHAR (BIKANER): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Bhajan Lal - not present.

SHRI R. MUTHIAH (PERIYAKULAM): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRI ARJUN CHARAN SETHI (BHADRAK): Sir, I second the motion.

SHRI RAM VILAS PASWAN (HAJIPUR): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRI N. JANARDHANA REDDY (BAPATLA): Sir, I second the motion.

DR. T. SUBBARAMI REDDY (VISAKHAPATNAM): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

श्री रघुवंश प्रसाद सिंह (वैशाली)ः अध्यक्ष महोदय, श्री टी. सुब्बारामा रेड्डी द्वारा प्रस्तावित श्री पी.एम. सईद को उपाध्यक्ष पद के लिए चुने जाने के प्रस्ताव का मैं पुरजोर समर्थन करता हूं। श्री प्रभुनाथ सिंह (महाराजगंज): अध्यक्ष महोदय, मैं प्रस्ताव करता हूं:-

'कि श्री पी.एम. सईद, जो इस सभा के सदस्य हैं, को इस सभा के

उपाध्यक्ष के रूप में चुना जाए।

श्री शकुनी चौधरी (खगड़िया): अध्यक्ष महोदय, जो प्रस्ताव पी.एम. साहब को उपाध्यक्ष बनाने का है, मैं उसका समर्थन करता हूं।

DR. SUBRAMANIAN SWAMY (MADURAI): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRI SURENDER SINGH (BHIWANI): Sir, I second the motion.

SHRI MURASOLI MARAN (MADRAS CENTRAL): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRI MADHUKAR SIRPOTDAR (MUMBAI NORTH-WEST): Sir, I second the motion.

MR. SPEAKER: Shri R.S. Gavai - not present.

SHRI AMAR ROY PRADHAN (COOCHBEHAR): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

SHRI P.R. KYNDIAH (SHILLONG): Sir, I second the motion.

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Sanat Kumar Mandal - not present.

SHRI E. AHAMED (MANJERI): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House".

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Francisco Sardinha - not present.

Now the motion moved by Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee and seconded by Shri Sharad Pawar is before the House for consideration; and I am putting this motion to the vote of the House.

The question is:

"That Shri P.M. Sayeed, a member of this House, be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House."

The motion was adopted.

MR. SPEAKER: I declare that Shri P.M. Sayeed has been chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this House.

(Shri P.M. Sayeed, was conducted to his seat by the Leader of the House, Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee, the Leader of the Opposition, Shri Sharad Pawar, and Leaders of some other Parties and Groups.)