## LOK SABHA DEBATES

LOK SABHA	Shri Chokka Rao Juvvadi (Karim Nagar)
	Shri Surender Reddy (Ramasasha- yam (Warangal)
Wednesday, July 10, 1991/Asadha 19, 1913 (Saku)	Shri Bommagani Dharma Bik- sham (Nalgonda)
-	Shri Boomireddy Narsimha Reddy (Miryalguda)
The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of	Shri Vadde Sobhanadreswara Rao (Vijayawada)
the Clock	Shri Abdul Ghafoor (Gopalganj)
[THE SPEAKER pro tem (SHRI INDRAJIT GUPTA) in the Chair]	Shri George Fernandes (Muzaffar- pur)
•	Shri Ram Vilas Paswan (Rosera)
MEMBERS SWORN	Shri Simon Marandi (Rajmahal)
[English]	Shri Suk Deo Paswan (Araria)
MR. SPEAKER: Secretary-Gene-	Shri Pratap Sinha (Banka)
ral may call out the names of the Members who have not yet taken the oath or made the affirmation.	Shri Ram Deo Ram (Palamu)
	Shri Ramchandra Veerappa (Bidar)
Shri Kamal Nath (Chhindwara)	Shri A. Venkatesh Naik (Raichur)
Shri G. Venkat Swamy (Pedda- palli)	Shri V. Krishna Ruo (Chikballa- pur)
Shri Manoranjan Bhakta (Anda-	Shri K. H. Muniyappa (Kolar)
man & Nicobar Islands)	Shri G. Madegowda (Mandya)
Shri Anandagajapathiraju Poosa- pati (Bobbili)	Shri V. Sreenivasaprasad (Chama- rajanagar)
Shri Konathala Ramakrishna (Ana- kapalli)	Shri H. D. Devegowda (Hassan)
Shri Kasu Venkata Krishna Red-	Shri D. K. Naikar (Dharwad North)
dy (Narasaraopeta)	Shri Palai K. N. Mathew (Idukki)
Shri Yellaiah Nandi (Siddipet)	Shrimati Vijaya Raje Scindia
Shri Allola Indrakaran (Adilabad)	(Guna)
Shri Gaddam Ganga Reddy (Niza- mabad)	Kumari Pushpa Devi Singh (Rai- garh)

- 11.31 hrs. [SHRI ATAL BIHARI

Shri Khelan Ram Jangde (Bilas-

- VAJPAYEE in the Chair]
  - pur) Shri Surajbhanu Shivbhanu
  - Solanki (Dhar)
  - Shri Sudhir Sitaram Sawant (Rajapur)
- Shri Govindrao Nikam (Ratnagiri)
- Shri A.R. Antulay (Kulaba)
- Dr. Pawar Vasant Niwritti (Nasik)

Shri

- Shri Meghe Dattaji Raghobaji (Nagpur)
- Shri Praful Mancharbhai Patel (Bhandara)

Muttemwar Vilas Baburao

- (Chimur)

  Shri Sadul Dharmanna Mondayya
  (Solapur)
- Shri Gadakh Yaswantrao Kankarrao (Ahmednagar)
- Shri Ajit Anantrao Pawar (Baramatti)
- Shri Bhosale Prataprao Bapurao (Satara)

  Shri Mane Balasaheb Alias Raja-
- Shri Loknath Choudhary (Jagatsinghpur)

ram Shankarrao (Ichalkaranji)

- Shri Khagopati Pradhani (Nowrangpur)
- Dr. Krupasindhu Bhoi (Sambalpur)
  Shrimati Maragatham Chandrasekhar (Sriperumbudur)
  - sekhar (Sriperumbudur)
    Shri K.V. Thangka Balu (Dharma-
- puri)
  Shri C. K. Kuppuswamy (Coimbatore)
- Shri A.G.S. Ram Babu (Madurai)
  Shri V. Rajeswaran (Ramanathapuram)
  - Shrimati Maharani Bibhu Kumari Devi (Tripura East)

Shri Manbendra Shah (Tehri Garhwal)
Shri Jeewan (Almora)

4

- Shri Chandra Shekhar (Ballia)
- Shri Rajnath Sonkar Shastri (Saidpur)
- Shri Ajit Singh (Baghpat)
- Shri Inder Jeet (Darjeeling)
- Shri Chitta Basu (Barsat)
  Shri Amal Datta (Diamond Har-
- bour)
  Shrimati Gceta Mukherjee (Pans-
- Shri Haradhan Roy (Asansol)
  Shri M.V.V.S. Murthy (Vishakha-
- patnam)
  Shri Thota Subba Rao (Kakinada)
- 12.00 hrs.

kura)

- Shri K.V.R. Chowdari (Rajahmundry)

  Shri Bala Yogi C.M.C. (Amala-
- puram)
  Shri Vijayakumar Raju Bhupathiraju (Narasapur)
- Shri Bolla Bulliramaiah (Eluru)
  Shri K.P. Reddaiah (Machilipat
  - nam)
    Shri Ummareddy Venkatsewarlu (Tenali)
  - Shri Lal Jan Basha S. (Guntur) Shri D. Venkateswara Rao (Bapatla)
  - Shri Viswanadham Kanithi (Srika-
  - kulam)
    Shri R. Sridharan (Madras South)

Pratap

Singh

(Fatchpur)
Shri R. Dhanuskodi Athithan
(Tiruchendur)

Vishwanath

Shri

Shri Manoranjan Sur (Basirhat)

[Translation]

MR. CHAIRMAN: Hon. Members. the agenda for swearing in of Members for the day is over, the House is adjourned to re-assemble here at 3.00 p.m.

12.15 hrs.

The Lok Sabha then adjourned till Fifteen of the Clock

15.00 hrs.

The Lok Sabha re-assembled at Fifteen of the Clock

THE SPEAKER Pro tem (SHRI INDRAJIT GUPTA) in the Chair] MEMBERS SWORN-Contd.

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Secretary-General may call out the names of the Members who are to take Oath or make Affirmation.

Shri Rama Chandra Rath (Aska)

/ 15-00 hrs.

ELECTION OF SPEAKER

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: I think there are no Members present who have yet taken the oath. So, we proceed to the next Business.

We take up the Motions for the Election of Speaker of the Lok Sabha. I call upon Shri Lal Krishna Advani to move the motion standing in his name.

SHRI LAL. K. ADVANI (Gandhi Nagar): Sir, I do not propose to move this motion.

MR. SPEAKER: Shrimati Sheila

Shri K. R. Narayanan, He is not here, he is absent.

Shri Arjun Singh

THE MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI ARJUN SINGH): Sir, I beg to move:

> "That Shri Shivraj V. Patil, Member of this House, be

chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI P. G. NARAYANAN (Gobichettipalayam): Sir, I second the motion.

MR. SPEAKER: Motion moved:

"That Shri Shivraj V. Patil, Member of this House, chosen as the Speaker of this House."

MR. SPEAKER: Shri A.R. Antulay has already said that he is not moving. Now Shri B. Shankaranand.

THE MINISTER OF PETRO-LEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI B. SHANKARANAND): Sir, I am not moving the motion.

SHRI LAL K. ADVANI: You may put the motion that has been moved.

MR. SPEAKER: That is not All the motions have to moved here and then the voting will take place, if necessary one by one.

Shri Basudeb Acharia to move the motion standing in his name.

BASUDEB ACHARIA (Bankura): Sir, the Office of Speaker of Lok Sabha is a constitutional office, which ought to be above.....(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: You must either move the motion or say that you do not move the motion.

SHRI BASUDEB ACHARIA: Sir, the Speaker should command unreserved cooperation from all of the House. The result of the last General Elections has clearly shown that no party or front has got a clear majority.....(Interruptions).

MR. SPEAKER: Are you moving your motion or not?

SHRI BASUDEB ACHARIA: In this new situation, a new approach

2-10 LSS/ND/91