an>

SHRI KOTHA PRABHAKAR REDDY (MEDAK): I draw the attention of the Hon'ble Minister for Urban Development to my request letter dated 24.7.2015 regarding inclusion of Sangareddy District Headquarters Municipality under AMRUT Scheme.

Sangareddy Municipality is the district headquarters with a population of 80,061 spread over the area of 4.25 sq. kms as per 2011 census. Over a period of time, the Sangareddy Municipality has expanded towards the surrounding semi-urban villages namely Kandi, Pothireddypalli, Kalabguru, Kulabguru, Chintalpally, Malkapur and IITR Corridor. With this the population has gone up to 1,04,549. Sangareddy Municipality is a fast growing town with small scale industries, educational institutions (Agriculture, Engineering College, Agriculture Polytechnic College, Social Welfare, Tribal Welfare Hostels and IIT Institution etc.) and also as a business centre for 300 surrounded villages. Due to lack of infrastructure facilities, this Municipality is facing a lot of difficulties to cater to the needs of the people. So, the existing infrastructure should be improved or new infrastructure should be provided in order to manage water supply, sewerage and mobility etc. which requires a lot of capital. In view of expansion of the Municipality towards the surrounding villages and having population of more than 1 lakh, Sangareddy Municipality should be included in the list of 500 class-I towns, as per the new scheme of Government of India.

In view of the above, I urge upon Hon'ble Minister for Urban Development to consider for inclusion of Sangareddy Municipality in the list of AMRUT Scheme for all round development.