Title: Election of twenty members from Lok Sabha and 10 members from Raiva Sabha to the Committee on Welfare of other Backward Classes.

THE MINISTER OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT, MINISTER OF HOUSING AND URBAN POVERTY ALLEVIATION AND MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI M. VENKAIAH NAIDU): Madam Speaker, I beg to move the following:

- "(1) (a) That a Committee of both the Houses, to be called the Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs) be constituted, consisting of thirty members, twenty from Lok Sabha and ten from Rajya Sabha, to be elected in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote;
- (b) That a Minister shall not be eligible for election as a Member of the Committee and that if a Member after his election to the Committee is appointed a Minister, he shall cease to be a Member thereof from the date of such appointment;
- (c) That the Chairperson of the Committee shall be appointed by the Speaker from amongst the Members of the Committee;
- (2) That the functions of the Committee shall be:-
- (i) To consider the reports submitted by the National Commission for Backward Classes set up under The National Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993 and to report to both the Houses as to the measures that should be taken by the Union Government in respect of matters within the purview of the Union Government including the Administrations of the Union Territories;
- (ii) To report to both the Houses on the action taken by the Union Government and the Administrations of the Union Territories on the measures proposed by the Committee;
- (iii) To examine the measures taken by the Union Government to secure due representation of the Other Backward Classes, particularly the Most Backward Classes, in services and posts under its control (including appointments in the public sector undertakings, statutory and semi-Government Bodies and in the Union Territories) having regard to the provisions of the Constitution;
- (iv) To report to both the Houses on the working of the welfare programmes for the Other Backward Classes in the Union Territories;
- (v) To consider generally and to report to both the Houses on all matters concerning the welfare of the Other Backward Classes which fall within the purview of Union Government including the Administrations of Union Territories; and
- (vi) To examine such matters as may be deemed fit by the Committee or are specifically referred to it by the House or the Speaker.
- (3) That the members of the Committee shall hold office for a period of one year from the date of the first meeting of the Committee which shall be reconstituted thereafter for one year at a time according to the procedure described in para (1) above;
- (4) That in order to constitute a sitting of the Committee, the quorum shall be ten;
- (5) That in all other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and
- (6) That this House do recommend to the Rajya Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do join in the Committee and communicate to this House the names of Members elected from amongst the Members of the Rajya Sabha to the Committee as mentioned above".

HON. SPEAKER: The question is:

"(1) (a) That a Committee of both the Houses, to be called the Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs) be constituted, consisting of thirty members, twenty from Lok Sabha and ten from Rajya Sabha, to be elected in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote;

(b) That a Minister shall not be eligible for election as a Member of the Committee and that if a Member after his election to the Committee is appointed a Minister, he shall cease to be a Member thereof from the date of such appointment;
(c) That the Chairperson of the Committee shall be appointed by the Speaker from amongst the Members of the Committee;
(2) That the functions of the Committee shall be:-
(i) To consider the reports submitted by the National Commission for Backward Classes set up under The National Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993 and to report to both the Houses as to the measures that should be taken by the Union Government in respect of matters within the purview of the Union Government including the Administrations of the Union Territories;
(ii) To report to both the Houses on the action taken by the Union Government and the Administrations of the Union Territories on the measures proposed by the Committee;
(iii) To examine the measures taken by the Union Government to secure due representation of the Other Backward Classes, particularly the Most Backward Classes, in services and posts under its control (including appointments in the public sector undertakings, statutory and semi-Government Bodies and in the Union Territories) having regard to the provisions of the Constitution;
(iv) To report to both the Houses on the working of the welfare programmes for the Other Backward Classes in the Union Territories;
(v) To consider generally and to report to both the Houses on all matters concerning the welfare of the Other Backward Classes which fall within the purview of Union Government including the Administrations of Union Territories; and
(vi) To examine such matters as may be deemed fit by the Committee or are specifically referred to it by the House or the Speaker.
(3) That the members of the Committee shall hold office for a period of one year from the date of the first meeting of the Committee which shall be reconstituted thereafter for one year at a time according to the procedure described in para (1) above;
(4) That in order to constitute a sitting of the Committee, the quorum shall be ten;
(5) That in all other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and
(6) That this House do recommend to the Rajya Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do join in the Committee and communicate to this House the names of Members elected from amongst the Members of the Rajya Sabha to the Committee as mentioned above".
The motion was adopted.