Title: Regarding shifting of oil terminals and stations of these public sector oil companies to Manali and Tiruvottiyur.

SHRI P.R. SUNDARAM (NAMAKKAL): Hon. Deputy speaker, Sir, hon. Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Dr. Puartchi Thalaivi Amma, has won in the recent by-elections held in Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar assembly constituency with a huge margin of 1,50,722 votes. Hon. Amma's victory is a Himalayan victory in the history of elections in India. Hon. Amma has taken over as Chief Minister for the fifth time of the State of Tamil Nadu.

In Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar assembly constituency, represented by hon. Amma, public sector oil companies like Indian Oil Corporation, Bharat Petroleum and Hindustan Petroleum have their terminals and stations in Korukkupet and Tondiarpet. Due to accidental leakage in the large pipelines connected to the giant oil tanks, the ground water gets polluted in many places. It may sometimes lead to fire accidents also. Although public sector oil companies have selected land for developing their terminals and stations in Manali and Tiruvottiyur instead of Korukkupet and Tondiarpet, the shifting work has not yet commenced.

I urge upon the Union Government to expedite the process of shifting of oil terminals and stations of these public sector oil companies to Manali and Tiruvottiyur.