Title: Shri Rajnath Singh moved a motion regarding reference of Citizenship (Amendment) Bill to Joint Committee of Houses 2015 constiting of 20 members.

## THE MINISTER OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI RAJNATH SINGH): I beg to move:

"That the Bill to further amend the Citizenship Act, 1955 be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of the following 20 Members from this House:-

- 1 Dr. Satya Pal Singh (Baghpat)
- 2 Shri Ramen Deka
- 3 Shri Pralhad Joshi
- 4 Shri Kamakhya Prasad Tasa
- 5 Shri Gopal Shetty
- 6 Dr. Virendra Kumar
- 7 Shri Ashwini Kumar Choubey
- 8 Dr. Kirit P. Solanki
- 9 Shri Sunil Kumar Singh
- 10 Shrimati Meenakashi Lekhi
- 11 Shri Rajendra Agrawal
- 12 Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury
- 13 Kumari Sushmita Dev
- 14 Dr. P. Venugopal
- 15 Prof. Saugata Roy
- 16 Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab
- 17 Shri Ram Mohan Naidu Kinjarapu
- 18 Shri Anandrao Adsul
- 19 Shri B. Vinod Kumar
- 20 Shri Mohammad Salim

and 10 Members from the Rajya Sabha;

That in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

That the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the Winter Session, 2016;

That in other respects, the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

That this House recommends to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of the Members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

## HON. DEPUTY SPEAKER: The question is:

"That the Bill to further amend the Citizenship Act, 1955 be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of the following 20 Members from this House:-

- 1 Dr. Satya Pal Singh (Baghpat)
- 2 Shri Ramen Deka
- 3 Shri Pralhad Joshi
- 4 Shri Kamakhya Prasad Tasa
- 5 Shri Gopal Shetty
- 6 Dr. Virendra Kumar
- 7 Shri Ashwini Kumar Choubey
- 8 Dr. Kirit P. Solanki
- 9 Shri Sunil Kumar Singh
- 10 Shrimati Meenakashi Lekhi
- 11 Shri Rajendra Agrawal
- 12 Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury
- 13 Kumari Sushmita Dev
- 14 Dr. P. Venugopal
- 15 Prof. Saugata Roy
- 16 Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab
- 17 Shri Ram Mohan Naidu Kinjarapu
- 18 Shri Anandrao Adsul
- 19 Shri B. Vinod Kumar
- 20 Shri Mohammad Salim

and 10 Members from the Rajya Sabha;

That in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

That the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the Winter Session, 2016;

That in other respects, the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

That this House recommends to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of the Members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

The motion was adopted.