Title: Secretary-General reported the messages from Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha concurred in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to the Committee on Public Accounts of the Lok Sabha; to join the Committee of both the houses on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes; election of Ten Members from Rajya Sabha to the Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Madam Speaker, I have to report following messages received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

(i) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 22 nd March, 2013 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on Public Accounts:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Accounts of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1st May, 2013 and ending on the 30 April, 2014, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above Motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
 - 1. Dr. E.M. Sudarsana Natchiappan
 - 2. Shrimati Ambika Soni
 - 3. Shri Prakash Javadekar
 - 4. Shri Satish Chandra Misra
 - 5. Shri Prasanta Chatterjee
 - 6. Shri N.K. Singh
 - 7. Dr. V. Maitreyan'
- (ii) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 22 nd March, 2013 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes:-
 - "That this House resolves that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee of both the Houses on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes for the term beginning on the 1st May, 2013 and ending on the 30th April, 2014, and do proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote, ten Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."
- 3. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above Motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
 - 1. Shri Nandi Yellaiah
 - 2. Dr. Pradeep Kumar Balmuchu
 - 3. Shrimati Wansuk Syiem
 - 4. Shri Nand Kumar Sai
 - 5. Shri Faggan Singh Kulaste
 - 6. Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot
 - 7. Shri Veer Singh
 - 8. Shri Shashi Bhusan Behera
 - 9. Shri D. Raja
 - 10. Shri Lalhming Liana'
- (iii) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Monday, the 22 nd April, 2013 adopted the following Motion in regard to the Committee on the Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs):-
 - "That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha to elect ten Members from amongst the Members of the Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes for the term of one year beginning from the date of the first sitting of the Committee and do communicate to this House the names of Members so elected to the Committee."
- 4. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that as a result of the election process initiated pursuant to the above Motion, the

following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-

- 1. Shri V. Hanumantha Rao
- 2. Dr. Ram Prakash
- 3. Shri Rama Chandra Khuntia
- 4. Shri Ashk Ali Tak
- 5. Shrimati Jharna Das Baidya
- 6. Shri Ramchandra Prasad Singh
- 7. Shri Birendra Prasad Baishya

5. I am also to inform that in order to fill up the remaining three vacancies in the Committee, the election process will be initiated during the next Session of Rajya Sabha.'

...(Interruptions)