Title: Secretary-General reported the messages from Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha adopted a motion to join the Committee of both the Houses; Rajya Sabha had no recommendations to make to the Lok Sabha in regard to the Appropriation (No. 3) Bill, 2012 and Finance Bill, 2012 and agreed without any amendment to the North-Eastern Areas

(Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2012, passed by Lok Sabha on the 11<sup>th</sup> May, 2012.

## SECRETARY-GENERAL: Madam Speaker, I have to report the following

messages received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

- (i) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Thursday, the 22<sup>nd</sup> December, 2011 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee for Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs) :-
  - "That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that a Committee of both the Houses to be called the 'Committee for Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs)' be constituted for the purposes set out in the Motion adopted by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on 21<sup>sl</sup> December, 2011 and communicated to this House on that day, and resolves that this House do join in the said Committee and proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, ten Members from amongst the Members of this House to serve on the said Committee."

2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that as a result of the election process initiated pursuant to the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-

- 1. Shri V. Hanumantha Rao
- 2. Dr. Ram Prakash
- 3. Shri Rama Chandra Khuntia
- 4. Shri Natuji Halaji Thakor
- 5. Shrimati Jharna Das Baidya
- 6. Shri Ramchandra Prasad Singh
- 7. Shri Arvind Kumar Singh
- 8. Shri Devender Goud T.
- 9. Shri Birendra Prasad Baishya

3. I am also to inform that in order to fill up the remaining one vacancy in the Committee, the election process will be initiated during the next Session of Rajya Sabha.'

- (ii) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Wednesday, the 28<sup>th</sup> March, 2012 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on Public Accounts:-
  - "That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Accounts of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1<sup>st</sup> May, 2012 and ending on the 30<sup>th</sup> April, 2013, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-

- 1. Prof. Saif-ud-Din Soz
- 2. Shri Jesudasu Seelam
- 3. Shri Prakash Javadekar
- 4. Shri Satish Chandra Misra
- 5. Shri Prasanta Chatterjee
- 6. Shri N.K. Singh
- 7. Shri Sukhendu Sekhar Roy'

(iii) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Wednesday, the 28th March, 2012 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes:-

"That this House resolves that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee of both the Houses on the Welfare of

Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes for the term beginning on the 1<sup>st</sup> May, 2012 and ending on the 30<sup>th</sup> April, 2013, and do proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, ten Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-

- 1. Shri Rishang Keishing
- 2. Shri Ishwar Singh
- 3. Dr. Bhalchandra Mungekar
- 4. Shri Nand Kumar Sai
- 5. Shri Faggan Singh Kulaste
- 6. Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot
- 7. Shri Veer Singh
- 8. Shri D. Raja
- 9. Shri Lalhming Liana
- 10. Shri A.V. Swamy'

(iv) 'I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Wednesday, the 28<sup>th</sup> March, 2012 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on Public Undertakings:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Undertakings of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1<sup>st</sup> May, 2012 and ending on the 30<sup>th</sup> April, 2013, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from amongst the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-

- 1. Shri Janardan Dwivedi
- 2. Shri Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
- 3. Shri T.M Selvaganapathi
- 4. Shri Tariq Anwar
- 5. Shri Naresh Gujral
- 6. Dr. V. Maitreyan
- 7. Shri Anil Desai'
- (v) "In accordance with the provisions of sub-rule (6) of rule 186 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to return herewith the Appropriation (No.3) Bill, 2012, which was passed by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 3<sup>rd</sup> May, 2012 and transmitted to the Rajya Sabha for its recommendations and to state that this House has no recommendations to make to the Lok Sabha in regard to the said Bill."
- (vi) "In accordance with the provisions of sub-rule (6) of rule 186 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to return herewith the Finance Bill, 2012, which was passed by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 8<sup>th</sup> May 2012 and transmitted to the Rajya Sabha for its recommendations and to state that this House has no recommendations to make to the Lok Sabha in regard to the said Bill."
- (vii) "In accordance with the provisions of rule 127 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on the 16<sup>th</sup> May, 2012 agreed without any amendment to the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2012 which was passed by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 11<sup>th</sup> May, 2012."