>

Title: Regarding drought like situation in Tamil Nadu.

SHRI O.S. MANIAN (MAYILADUTHURAI): Thank you, Mr. Chairman, Sir for giving me this opportunity to raise a matter of urgent public importance.

Due to the failure of monsoon and denial of Cauvery water by the Karnataka Government, our State of Tamil Nadu faced a severe drought during the year 2012-13. There was no rain throughout the year in Tamil Nadu. All the agricultural activities were severely affected due to this. The shortage of ground water also spoiled the coconut trees severely.

The farmers lost their livelihood. The Tamil Nadu Government under the able leadership of Dr. Puratchi Thalaivi Amma announced so many welfare schemes to save the poor farmers from the severe drought. The Tamil Nadu Government paid Rs. 15,000 as compensation for those who are holding one acre of cultivable land. A team from the Central Government also visited the drought affected places to assess the damage of crops in Tamil Nadu and submitted a report to the Central Government. But till now, the Centre has not taken any action on the report. No compensation has been announced by the Centre.

The share of the Central Government which is to be paid through the Crop Insurance Scheme to the affected agriculturists, is till now pending. I would therefore request that the Centre should come forward to pay the arrears crop insurance for the year 2012-2013 immediately.

MR. CHAIRMAN: Dr. Venugopal.

DR. P. VENUGOPAL (TIRUVALLUR): Sir, I do not want to speak. I would just associate with what Shri Manian has spoken.

MR. CHAIRMAN: All right. The name of Dr. P. Venugopal will be associated on the matter raised by Shri Manian.

The House stands adjourned to meet again tomorrow, the 5th September, 2013 at 11 a.m.

22.25 hrs

The Lok Sabha then adjourned till Eleven of the Clock

on Thursday, September 5, 2013/Bhadrapada 14, 1935 (Saka).

- * Not recorded.

- * Not recorded.
- * English translation of the Speech originally delivered in Manipuri.
- * Voted through slip.
- * Corrected through slip for Noes.
- * The following Members also recorded/corrected their votes through slips.

Ayes 32 - Shri S. P. Y. Reddy = 31

Noes 202 + S/Shri S. P. Y Reddy and Shailendra Kumar = 204

- * Voted through slip.
- * The following Members also recorded/corrected their votes through slips.

Ayes 31

Noes 204 + Shri Shailendra Kumar = 205

- * Not recorded.
- * Voted through slip.
- * Voted through slip.
- * Voted through slip for Noes.
- * Voted through slip.
- * Voted through slip.
- * Voted through slip.
- * The following Members also recorded/corrected their votes through slips.

Ayes 40 + Shrimati Putul Kumari and Dr. P. Venugopal = 42

Noes 198 + Shrimati J. Helen Davidson, S/Shri Ramsinh Rathwa, Shailendra Kumar and Kodikunnil Suresh =202

Voted through slip.

- * Voted through slip.
- * Voted through slip.
- ** Corrected through slip for Ayes.
- * Voted through slip.
- ** Corrected through slip for Ayes.
- * Voted through slip.
- **Corrected through slip for Ayes.
- * Voted through slip.
- * Voted through slip.

- * Voted through slip.
- ** Corrected through slip for Noes.
- * Voted through slip.
- **Corrected through slip for Noes.
- * The following Members also recorded/corrected their votes through slips.

Ayes 174 + S/Shri Suresh Angadi, Anto Antony, T. R. Baalu, G. S. Basavaraj, P. Chidambaram, Shrimati Deepa Dasmunsi, S/Shri Charles Dias, Ninong Ering, Shri B. K. Handique, Shrimati Botcha Jhansi Lakshmi, S/Shri Mahesh Joshi, Naranbhai Kachhadia, Lalchand Kataria, Shailendra Kumar, Shrimati Putul Kumari, S/Shri N. Peethambara Kurup, Shrimati Ingrid Mcleod, S/Shri Namo Narain Meena, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Sis Ram Ola, Mullapally Ramachandran, S. S. Ramasubbu, Dr. K. S. Rao, S/Shri Rakesh Sachan, M. I. Shanavas, S. D. Shariq, Sushilkumar Shinde, Sukhdev Singh and Bhausaheb Rajaram Wakchaure – S/Shri P. Karunakaran, P. Kumar, P. Lingam, C. Sivasami, and K. Sugumar = 198

Noes 33 + S/Shri Basu Deb Acharia, M. Anandan, S. Bandyopadhyay, Pulin Bihari Baske, P. K. Biju, Shrimati Susmita Bauri, S/Shri P. Karunakaran, P. Kumar, P. Lingam, Narhari Mahato, Sakti Mohan Malik, Mahendra Kumar Roy, C. Sivasami, K. Sugumar and Dr. M. Thambidurai – S/Shri N. Peethambara Kurup, Namo Narain Meena, S. S. Ramasubbu and Rakesh Sachan = **44**

- * Not recorded.
- * Speech was laid on the Table.
- * Speech was laid on the Table
- * Speech was laid on the Table.
- * Speech was laid on the Table.
- * Speech was laid on the Table
- * Not recorded.
- * Not recorded.
- * Not recorded as ordered by the Chair.
- **Not recorded.
- * English translation of the Speech originally delivered in Punjabi.