## 12.01 hrs.

Title: Regarding election of the members from Rajya Sabha to the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes; Committee on Public Accounts and Committee on Public Undertakings, respectively.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I have to report the following messages received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

(i) "I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Thursday, the 20<sup>th</sup> March, 2008 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes: -

"That this House resolves that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee of both the Houses on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes for the term beginning on the 1<sup>st</sup> May, 2008 and ending on the 30<sup>th</sup> April. 2009, and do proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote, ten Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
  - 1. Shri Nandi Yellaiah
  - 2. Shri Jesudasu Seelam
  - 3. Dr. Radhakant Nayak
  - 4. Miss. Anusuiva Uikev
  - Shri Krishan Lal Balmiki
  - 6. Shri Mahendra Sahni
  - 7. Shri Brij Bhushan Tiwari
  - 8. Shri Thomas Sangma
  - 9. Shri Veer Singh
  - 10. Shri Tiruchi Siva
- (ii) "I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Thursday, the 20<sup>th</sup> March, 2008 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on Public Accounts:-

"That this House concours in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Accounts of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1<sup>st</sup> of May, 2008 and ending on the 30<sup>th</sup> April, 2009, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee: -
  - 1. Prof. P.J. Kurien
  - 2. Shri Raashid Alvi
  - 3. Shri B.K. Hariprasad
  - 4. Shri Shanta Kumar
  - 5. Dr. K. Malaisamy
  - 6. Shri Tarlochan Singh

- 7. Shri Prasanta Chatterjee'.
- (iii) "I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Thursday, the 20<sup>th</sup> March, 2008 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on Public Undertakings:-
  - "That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do agree to nominate seven Members from Rajya Sabha to associate with the Committee on Public Undertakings of the Lok Sabha for the term beginning on the 1<sup>st</sup> of May, 2008 and ending on the 30<sup>th</sup> April, 2009, and do proceed to elect, in such manner as the Chairman may direct, seven Members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Committee."
  - 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:-
    - 1. Shri R.K. Dhawan
    - 2. Shri Vikaykumar Rupani
    - 3. Shri K. Chandran Pillai
    - 4. Shri Amar Singh
    - 5. Shri Sharad Anantrao Joshi
    - 6. Shri Arjun Kumar Sengupta
    - 7. Shri Rahul Bajaj