Title: List of Officers of Lok Sabha.

OFFICERS OF LOK SABHA

THE SPEAKER *

Shri Somnath Chatterjee

THE DEPUTY SPEAKER **

Shri Charnjit Singh Atwal

PANEL OF CHAIRMEN ***

Shri Balasaheb Vikhe Patil

Shri Giridhar Gamang

Shri Manabendra Shah

SECRETARY-GENERAL

Shri G.C. Malhotra

The following three separate orders were issued by the President of India on 29.05.2004:

"1. Whereas the office of the Speaker will become vacant immediately before the commencement of the first sitting of the House of the People on the 2nd June, 2004 and the office of the Deputy Speaker is also vacant;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred upon me by clause (1) of article 95 of the Constitution of India, I hereby appoint Shri Somnath Chatterjee, a Member of the House of the People, to perform the duties of the office of the Speaker from the commencement of the said sitting, i.e. the 2nd of June, 2004, and until the commencement of the sitting of the House of the People on 4th of June, 2004.

A.P.J. Abdul Kalam,

PRESIDENT OF INDIA"

"2. And whereas appointment of Shri Somnath Chatterjee as Speaker pro tem is only upto the commencement of the sitting of the House of the People on the 4th of June, 2004;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred upon me by clause (1) of article 95 of the Constitution of India, I hereby appoint Shri Balasaheb Vikhe Patil, a Member of the House of the People to perform the duties of the office of the Speaker from the commencement of the sitting of the House of the People on the 4th of June, 2004 till the election of the Speaker by the said House.

A.P.J. Abdul Kalam,

PRESIDENT OF INDIA"

"3. I hereby appoint S/Shri Somnath Chatterjee, Balasaheb Vikhe Patil, Giridhar Gamang and Manabendra Shah to be the persons before any of whom members of the House of People may make and subscribe the cath or affirmation in accordance with the provisions of article 99 of the Constitution of India.

A.P.J. Abdul Kalam,

PRESIDENT OF INDIA"

^{*} Elected on 4.6.2004

^{**} Elected on 9.6.2004

^{***} Nominated on 29.05.2004 by President