Title: Motion regarding reference of Scheduled Tribes (Recognition of Forest Rights) Bill, 2005 to Joint Committee of the House. (Motion Adopted).

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: Before I call the next speaker to speak, we have got a Supplementary List of Business.

Before I call Shri P.R. Kyndiah, Minister for Tribal Affairs and Development of North-Eastern Region to move the motion for reference of the Scheduled Tribes (Recognition of Forest Rights) Bill, 2005 to the Joint Committee of the Houses, I have to inform the House that Shri P.R. Kyndiah, the Minister-in-charge of the Bill has intimated that the President, having been informed of the subject matter of the Bill, has recommended the consideration of the Bill by Lok Sabha under article 117 (3) of the Constitution.

THE MINISTER OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS AND MINISTER OF DEVELOPMENT OF NORTH EASTERN REGION (SHRI P.R. KYNDIAH): I beg to move:

"That the Bill to recognise and vest the forest rights and occupation in forest land in forest dwelling Scheduled Tribes who have been residing in such forests for generations but whose rights could not be recorded and to provide for a framework for recording the forest rights so vested and the nature of evidence required for such recognition and vesting in respect of forest land, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:-

- 1 Shri Shingada Damodar Barku
- 2 Shri Mahavir Bhagora
- 3 Shri C.K. Chandrappan
- 4 Shri V. Kishore Chandra S. Deo
- 5 Shri Giridhar Gamang
- 6 Dr. P.P. Koya
- 7 Shri A. Krishnaswamy
- 8 Shri Shailendra Kumar
- 9 Shri Rajesh Kumar Manjhi
- 10 Shri Babu Lal Marandi
- 11 Shri Madhusudan Mistry
- 12 Shri Hemlal Murmu
- 13 Shri Jual Oram
- 14 Shri Baju Ban Riyan
- 15 Shri Nand Kumar Sai
- 16 Adv. P. Satheedevi
- 17 Shri Sugrib Singh
- 18 Shri Rajesh Verma
- 19 Shri Ravi Prakash Verma
- 20 Shri P.R. Kyndiah

and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of Members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the second week of the next Session;

that in other respects, the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 Members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee[p132]."

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: The question is:

"That the Bill to recognise and vest the forest rights and occupation in forest land in forest dwelling Scheduled Tribes who have been residing in such forests for generations but whose rights could not be recorded and to

provide for a framework for recording the forest rights so vested and the nature of evidence required for such recognition and vesting in respect of forest land, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:-

- Shri Shingada Damodar Barku
- 2 Shri Mahavir Bhagora
- 3 Shri C.K. Chandrappan
- 4 Shri V. Kishore Chandra S. Deo
- 5 Shri Giridhar Gamang
- 6 Dr. P.P. Koya
- 7 Shri A. Krishnaswamy
- 8 Shri Shailendra Kumar
- 9 Shri Rajesh Kumar Manihi
- 10 Shri Babu Lal Marandi
- 11 Shri Madhusudan Mistry
- 12 Shri Hemlal Murmu
- 13 Shri Jual Oram
- 14 Shri Baju Ban Riyan
- 15 Shri Nand Kumar Sai
- 16 Adv. P. Satheedevi
- 17 Shri Sugrib Singh
- 18 Shri Rajesh Verma
- 19 Shri Ravi Prakash Verma
- 20 Shri P.R. Kyndiah

and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of Members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the second week of the next Session;

that in other respects, the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 Members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee[p133]."

The motion was adopted s134].

MR. CHAIRMAN: Now, three hon. Members, that is, Shri Girdhari Lal Bhargava, Dr. K.S. Manoj, and Shri Rajnarayan Budholia, have given notices on matters of urgent public importance. They can lay their special mentions on the Table of the House; it will be treated as part of the proceedings.