Title: Reference made regarding Fourth Anniversary of terrorist attack on Parliament House on the 13th December, 2001.

Re: Homage to memory of those who

died in terrorist attack on Parliament House.

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members may recall, that on 13 December, four years back, our Parliament had been the target of a cowardly terrorist attack.

The attack was foiled by the alertness displayed by the security personnel of Central Reserve Police Force, Delhi Police, Indo-Tibetan Border Police and Parliament Watch and Ward Security. In their effort to safeguard the precincts of the Parliament and its occupants, five security staff of Delhi Police, one Mahila Constable of Central Reserve Police Force and two Security Assistants of the Parliament's Watch and Ward, namely, S/Shri Nanak Chand, Ram Pal Singh, Ghan Shyam, Om Prakash, Vijayendra Singh, Shrimati Kamlesh Kumari, Shri J.P. Yadav and Shri Matbar Singh Negi, made the supreme sacrifice of laying down their lives. One gardener Shri Desh Raj also lost his life in the terrorist attack. Also a person from the electronic media Shri Vikram Singh Bisht sustained injuries in the attack and later succumbed to his injuries.

This solemn occasion calls for renewed efforts, to combat the menace of the global terrorism. Let us, therefore, rededicate ourselves to protect the unity, integrity and sovereignty of the country from all dangers, both internal and external.

The House may now stand in silence for a short while as a mark of respect to the memory of the departed.

11.01 hrs.

The Members then stood in silence for a short while.

12.01 hrs.

OBSERVATION BY THE SPEAKER